Humans logo

How to spot when someone is not interested in you

Goodbye doubts!

By Hevry PaylesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Sometimes we might find it hard to tell if someone is interested in us or not, some people might give —or you think they give— confusing signs as to if they like us or not, but today, I will be showing you some recognizable signs of someone's lack of interest.

1. They told you that they are not interested

It might seem crazy what I'm 'bout to say, but if someone tells you clearly that they are not interested, trust them, they are not. If you told someone that you are into them and they told you that they are not... why would you keep insisting?

2. They take too long to reply, even days

Some people might be busy and take long to reply, or maybe they do not feel like replying when they see the message, which is okay. However, when you are into someone you make time to reply or, at least, you do not forget you were texting that person, and, obviously, you do not avoid opening those 'unread' messages. "I suck at texting haha" (...) yeah, sure.

3. The person you are texting just answers, they do not keep the conversation going

You may find yourself putting all the effort into a conversation in which you are the only one asking questions or keeping the conversation going. If the other counterpart does not even try to bring up new topics, or at least ask "what about you?"... honestly, give up.

(Bonus: they leave you on 'read' or try to end the conversation, all the time)

4. If they see you in person and they avoid getting close you

If you know this person is around and you are into them, you will find any excuse to go and talk to them. However, if they are around, but every time you try to meet them they slip away... stop trying already.

(Bear in mind: try not to be the type of person to text someone all the time, but is not able to say 'hello' in real life, I mean, it is kind of lame.)

5. They always reject your plans

You always adjust your agenda and try to make plans with this person, but they are always busy or have other plans... nope, not interested.

"Would you like to hang out someday?"

"I can't that day"

"I didn't say when"

"I'm just too busy, I can't"

(Anecdote: there was this guy who lived in a town next to mine, who started texting me one day, out of the blue. I just knew he lived in a town next to mine, but I'd never talked to him in person. I wasn't interested in him, so I was waiting for an opportunity to let him know that I wasn't interested. He asked me to hang out and I said I couldn't because I was busy studying [yeah, I know I should've told him I didn't feel like it, but I made up an excuse], so he told me: "what if you weren't busy, would you like to hang out with me?", so I said, "No, I don't know you, and I don't feel like hanging out with you, I'm sorry". He asked me, and I gave him an honest answer... that should've been enough, right? Well, it wasn't: he started bashing me with "but you'll never get to know me if you don't hang out with me, "I just don't understand why you don't want to hang out", "you didn't even give me an opportunity", blah, blah, blah. Don't be like that, thank you.)

These are just a few signs that I have experienced, and yes, even after I told them I was not interested they kept on insisting... some people just don't get it.

Anyway, by now, you should know for sure if this person is interested in you or not, if they are not interested and you decide to ignore my advice... spoiler alert: you will end up blocked.

how to
1

About the Creator

Hevry Payles

I love writing just as much as I love cats and nature.

Have a blissful day!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.