Humans logo

How To Be Your True Self

by Mya

By MyaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
September 2020

Who are You? Do you know yourself? Are you always true to who you are, or do you cover up with an imaginary mask?

Growing into your true self is a lifelong process. See, every day we wake up with a different intention, a different distraction, a different life event, a different struggle all which test our very own identity.

Opposition and struggles make us who are and allow us to grow stronger and better with every difficulty we face.

So, who are you?

Knowing yourself, you must first define exactly who you are. Define all your strong and your weak characteristics. I suggest writing these out on a piece of paper or typing it out so you can self-reflect. Skipping over your own attributes is sickening to your own self. If you do not define who you are, it is easy for others to define who you are for you. When people sense weakness of how you think about yourself, they can take advantage and try to manipulate your way of thinking. Knowing your own true self means that whatever someone else has to say about you will only allow you to grow. Learn to differentiate the people in your life that are only meant fulfill a seasonal purpose. Do not let anyone crumble you down to the ground, you are special and unique in your own way. Shine brightness unto yourself that way when darkness tries to creep in, your own light will overpower it and shield it out.

Why is it Hard to be Our Own Selves?

Do you find yourself scared to be your true self around certain people? Do you express yourself best when you are more so alone? Or, do you pretend to be someone you are not?

There are endless reasons why people find it hard to be their own selves.

For the longest, I was always afraid of other people’s criticism of myself and the things that I liked to do. When I would slightly express myself by talking, dancing, eating, and really anything I did, I noticed that people would criticize my every movement (that’s how I felt) and it made me want to remain in a box. People’s comments made me “quiet.” I often got called quiet and that is not me or a word to describe my personality. On the inside I would be crying and screaming and wishing that others would just accept me for me and the things I liked to do.

I came to conclude that I should not be hanging around people that do not accept me, no matter how much clout or popularity they had. I have never personally been a follower, always a leader however when I came to college in a new state, I just wanted to sort of fit in and participate in all the fun events they had to offer. I stopped being involved with those events because the people I would hang around would make me feel like I was not important. I stopped hanging many people and I had so much going on in my personal life. I remained in a shell for about two years.

I am finally a senior in college and have one more semester left until I graduate. Corona virus has changed everything which is apparent, but I am now trying to be more social as far as my academic and personal affairs. For some reason I was always scared of my voice and knowing that I am a very direct and honest individual. I know myself better and better every day.

It is often hard for a person to be themselves because deep down they want to be liked or loved. People will alter their interest and what they like to accommodate for others while left feeling empty or discontent on the inside.

So, the ending question is:

How Do You Be Yourself and Accept Who You Are?

I cannot answer this question for you, but I can give you some tips.

• Be unapologetic of who you are.

• When people criticize you, always remember that people are outsiders looking in… not insiders looking out.

• If someone does not accept you for who you are, do not force or welcome them into your life.

• Write out your strong and weak points, then work on the weak points and strengthen your strong points.

• Love yourself for who you are, not what other’s want you to be.

how to
1

About the Creator

Mya

My name is Mya. I am a college student and fitness trainer. I am an Aries. I love to write. Thank you for checking out my post !

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.