Humans logo

How Tems Reacted to Winning Her First Grammy (Video)

Tems talks Grammy win

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

On Sunday, our very own Temilade Openiyi popularly known as Tems won a Grammy for her credit on Future's song "Wait For U" which samples Tems' song "Higher". It was a monumental occasion. Quickly after the win, Tems was celebrated by a number of her industry peers including Tiwa Savage, Waje, Omawumi, Yemi Alade, and more who congratulated her for such a massive feat.

The only thing about the moment though is that when Tems' category was announced during the Grammys, and at the actual time when she won the award, she was unfortunately not yet present at the event. So, she was not able to give an actual speech.

BUT, the good people over at Rolling Stones caught up with the singer on the red carpet moments after she won the award, and inquired about how she felt about the award win and what was going through her mind. Here is the moment Rolling Stones caught up with Tems, and here is what she said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

**Scroll down if you want to watch the video. If you don't want to watch the video, and you only want to read what Tems said, here is what she said:

"The song [Wait For U] was taken from "Higher", your track. Were you notified before? How did you get that notification?"

TEMS: It was like literally a reach out, "oh we love your song and we are using this as a sample", and I was like "Ha! Amazing". And yeah, I thought the song was interesting and it was beautiful the way that it came together.

"Tems, a little birdie just told me that you just won a Grammy for Melodic Rap Performance."

TEMS: Oh, yeah? That same birdie told me that too.

"That same birdie told you that too? How does it feel to be taking home that gold?"

TEMS: It's incredible. You know, I get to work with people that 5 years ago were on my playlist. You know I was jamming to them and now I'm working with them. It's such a pleasure, and I feel like this is just the beginning.

"How do you stay grounded and just stay true to yourself with so much that has just been happening these past couple years, how does Tems stay grounded and connected?"

TEMS: Uhmmm, I really just - I find out something new about myself everyday. I don't waste time in exploring. I explore so much. I go on many adventures. I travel many places, and I am always aware. I am always present. And I think that is how you stay grounded. Also by having people around you, beautiful people, beautiful hearts, people that are in it for the real thing you know. For changing lives and impact. You need that.

Big Congratulations to Tems. She is really making us so proud and we are all so happy to see the success that she is enjoying right now. Keep flying Tems, you are doing us proud.

What did you think of Tems' Grammy win? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.