Humans logo

How Person I Trained Betrayed Me and Started Selling My Properties - Patience Ozokwo

Patience Ozokwo tells her story

By Jide OkonjoPublished 14 days ago 3 min read
1

Nollywood actress Patience Ozokwo is opening up in a new interview about her life. She shares the difference between her life on screen and her personal life, as well as opening up about the hurts she's faced and what fame has deprived her. Here's what she said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Sharing her truth, Patience Ozokwo spoke candidly saying:

PATIENCE OZOKWOR: My dear uwa ka mma na film (Life is always better in movies). The accessories or wealth you’ve never had, you can be given a role where you have all of them. Some will say they are living a fake life, but it is not a fake life, they are only acting. You can be given a role where you own three companies, a luxury house and a fleet of cars, but it is just acting, that is not your true life.

I cried a lot growing up even before I became a star because I had a rough life growing up. I had no wealth to give my parents a good life and even my husband. So, when I remember these things they make me cry, and I just wish they were here today to enjoy the good life. Another incident that has made me cry is when my husband was very sick and there was no money, my kids were all in school then, and getting money for my husband’s health and children’s school fees was a hard one.

My turning point was when my pastor called me and said “sister, I see your picture in so many movie posters.” My pastor was Pastor Chuks Ogbueli. And I told him hmm, Daddy, they are not paying me that much oo, just a little payments and he was like really? And he said bring your hand and he said: “Go and make wealth,” and since then I have not stopped making wealth. That short prayer from my pastor changed my life for good.

But fame denied me the freedom to walk on the streets; I couldn’t go to the market and buy things freely. However, I’m the type of person who doesn’t go outside if I don’t have a reason to, I enjoy my private space. So, even if it gets that lonely, I have my kids and my grandkids and that’s enough for me.

I have been hurt so many times. One time I helped a family member of mine and after helping him, he thanked me by going behind me to sell my properties: my lands, it was heartbreaking. I called him and confronted him, but he didn’t listen. I had to file a case in court and he agreed to go to court with me, someone I trained to become a lawyer.

What do you think about what Patience Ozokwor said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
1

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.