Humans logo

How My Films Made Warri Pastor Start His Church - Tony Umez

Tony Umez talks about his acting highlights

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Nollywood actor Tony Umez is one very beloved actor in the Nigerian movie industry who has starred in a number of classic Nollywood productions. During the span of his career, Tony Umez has starred in movies including Blood Sister, Died Wretched, Demon-in-Law, Lockdown, and more. After so many years as a working actor, it is so impressive that the actor is still very much on the scene, still working, and still at the top of his game.

During an interview with Arabella Star Magazine, Tony Umez opened up about how he's been able to last so long as an actor, the growth he has seen over the years, greatest moments as an actor and also the Warri pastor who opened his church because of him. Here is what Tony Umez said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

During his interview, Tony Umez was asked "How do you work on being a better actor?" to which he said:

I read books/novels. Anything readable, I devour. I’m a voracious reader. Reading books improves your wordstock because you come across some new words, find out their meanings and then add them to your vocabulary. Reading also exposes you to different cultures and customs. I also watch movies, African and Foreign, to enable me better my act. Then, some little exercises to keep me fit.

"When you look at the Tony Umez of then, and the man you are today, what changes and growth would you say have occurred over years?"

Hahahahahaha. Oh definitely, there’s been positive changes and growth from when I started to now. I have grown older, become more mature and wiser. My craft has improved because I know more now than I knew then. I have met a lot of people, positive and the not-so-positive in almost all spheres of endeavor, who have helped me mould a better me. So, the Tony Umez you see now is a super-improved version, in all areas, of the earlier Tony Umez.

"What has been your greatest moment as an actor?"

I have great moments any time I am on set working. I love my job to bits. Anytime I see my job on the screen is a great moment for me. When people call, praise and appreciate me because of my craft, is a great moment for me. I have met with a President or two, some Governors, some very notable people because of my craft and they’ve been great moments. The classic movie, DIED WRETCHED, that brought me fame, popularity and stardom, was a super-great moment for me. However, the moment that takes the cake was when a pastor based in Warri, Pastor Edijala, called me some many years ago and said that my role in the movie, CHRIST IN ME, motivated him to set up his Ministry , his Church. That is my greatest moment.

Wow, that must be an incredible feeling though. To have your movie motivate somebody to do such a big thing like that is very wild. What do you think about what Tony Umez said and what he revealed during his interview? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.