Humans logo

How I Felt Performing One Month After My Son's Passing - Davido

Davido speaks about World Cup performance

By Jide OkonjoPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian musician Davido is back! The multiple award winning musician has come out with his latest studio album, Timeless, and in promotion of the album and all the new music, he headed to The Beat 99.9FM to discuss about not only the music, but also other things like his historic performance at the World Cup last year.

Davido's performance at the World Cup was monumental, not only because of the magnitude of the stage he was on, but also because that was the first time he was going to be performing after the very tragic loss of his son, Ifeanyi, just about two months prior. Davido had to start rehearsals, according to him, just one month after his son's passing, and during the new interview, he talks about how that affected him, as well as how the performance was, and how that whole time felt. Here is what Davido had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Davido during interview

Speaking about how it felt performing at one of the world's biggest stages, the World Cup, just shortly after his son's passing, Davido said:

DAVIDO: Crazy. This is like a year ago we did the FIFA draw which we performed the official theme song, and I think they had like 5, 6 official theme songs but that was like the first one. And uhm, you know the vibe was cool then but I didn't really look at it like 'oh they're gonna call me back to do the World Cup' or stuff like that. And then later on, when it was getting closer to the World Cup, I think they started talking to my management like you know, yeah we want David to come down. But me I always thought like: is it the main one? Like is the main main one?'I didn't even know it was like the main main main one till like a week to going to Qatar. Then they sent like yeah, it's the actual main event and we have to come a week before to rehearse — that's like a month after my son passed.

So it was just like ah! Should I do it? But then I was like ah, this is an opportunity that might never come again, and people don't even get it in their whole career. And I was like man, my son would probably want me to do it. I was like 'okay, I think I'll do this one, then probably just disappear again'. So we went to Qatar, got down. Bro, the production, it was like we haven't done any work at all. Yo, that performance woke us up like whenever we get back to performing, we're about to be doing some crazy stuff. Amazing experience. Shoutout to the Qatari people, very loving people. Very loving, caring people. They took care of us the whole time. I feel like that was one of the best places I could have gone after what happened to me.

What do you think about what Davido said, and about his World Cup performance? If you've listened to the new album, what do you also think of the new music? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.