Humans logo

How I Felt About Chidi Mokeme Grabbing My Butt in 'Shanty Town' - Mercy Eke

Mercy Eke talks more about breakout acting job

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Big Brother winner Mercy Eke made her major acting debut when she starred in the hit Netflix series, Shanty Town. Mercy played the character of Jackie, a prosititute trying to get her freedom, and which such a character comes some very raunchy and provocative scenes. During a new interview, Mercy Eke opened up about why she took on the role of Jackie as well as how she felt shooting those raunchy scenes. Here is what Mercy Eke said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Mercy Eke as Jackie in 'Shanty Town'

Speaking about why she decided to take on the role of Jackie in 'Shanty Town', Mercy Eke said:

MERCY EKE: As an aspiring actor, who has continued to aspire to be a talented practitioner, it was an exciting experience. When I got the script, I read and though I have seen a lot of movies, not many had the quality of the story. Many of the characters are people I have seen in movies when I was young and they influenced my growing up, so when I read the script and what my character was meant to do, I felt this was what I have always wanted to do, this is the time to showcase what I can deliver as an actor. Jackie is the character and the opportunity and I told myself I was not just going to play the role but will embody the character of Jackie. I enjoyed my experience on the set, I was surrounded by great talents, great actors and everybody was just amazing, like a family reunion. Even when I didn’t get my lines or I had difficulties, they would always encourage and help me get it right with constant advice. It was beautiful and I enjoyed it. I just said to myself you just have to be Jackie and play Jackie. It was a sweet character, it’s something everybody can relate to in our society today. Everybody can totally relate to Jackie. So when I read the script, I was like it is what I can do. Yeah, let me just go and show my acting skills with Jackie

Speaking about shooting those raunchy scenes like the one of Chidi Mokeme's character Scar grabbing her breasts and butt, Mercy Eke said:

MERCY EKE: At that moment, it wasn’t Mercy, it was Jackie and I was in the moment where I didn’t think of what anyone would say or what viewers would say, I was basically in the character and all I was focused on was bringing the character to life, I want people to see that and these are things that happen in real life, so it’s not because there’s a character I am playing for everyone to see, so that was it. In fact, it was after the whole shoot that I returned to Mercy and was wondering oh wow, did I play that? Did it show? And at that time, it was just done and I hope people understand it is acting and make-believe and be sure they would see more of me, not just that.

What do you think of what Mercy Eke said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.