Humans logo

How I Feel about People Thinking I Wake Up and Go and Do Surgery - Toke Makinwa

Toke Makinwa clears up all the rumors

By Jide OkonjoPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
3

There is a lot that has been said about socialite, actress, and business woman Toke Makinwa. Some of it has been positive, and some of it has been negative.

In a new interview with DTNow Magazine, Toke Makinwa finally addresses some of the negative thoughts people have of her including that she undergoes many surgeries, and that she got to where she is because of rich sponsors. Here's what Toke Makinwa had to say about the whole thing.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

During the interview, Toke was asked "What is it that people believe about you that is not true?" She responded:

TOKE MAKINWA: I think people believe that I just wake up every day and get surgeries. People believe that my life has been handed over to me. People definitely believe that there's some wealthy guy somewhere who's funding my life. And I think - I mean, I just in this space today, I've had four jobs in one job. Literally shooting this cover, shooting for another company, the campaigns I shot in this same building, four in one. People don't see that because I make it look fun. And I think we have a generation that is so obsessed with results and not the process. And that's why you find a lot of young people who are quick to be depressed and anxious because they just want it right now. Half the time, we don't post our failures. Jeez, I had so many doors shut in my face. I became a good presenter because of the nos' I got. I remember standing in the flipping cold in O2 begging to be interviewed because I wanted to get a job on MTV. And of course, I didn't get the job. It hurts. You know, I remember going for my first audition and someone being pretty mean to me because she just thought she knew me from the University of Lagos and just said really mean things to me. Threw my game off. I didn't get the job. I cried myself to sleep. But people don't get that side. People don't see the L's that I take. The moment they see success, they're quick to want to relate it to something that has nothing to do with anything. But I don't really complain anymore. I just say if it's easy to do it, I mean, if you find someone who wants to take care of me, shoot, girl, I'll be like, Yo, you know, and then it's not my fault that a certain caliber of people fancy me. You know what I mean? I've worked so hard to get to the point in my life where I can say that you want to be with me. There has to be something to bring to the table. So if you call that me dating someone who just has money, I mean, it's not my fault that wealthy people like me. So maybe in the future, I'm supposed to be wealthy. I mean, I am wealthy. So I guess we're speaking the same language (laughs)

What do you think about what Toke Makinwa had to say? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

In addition to blogging, I make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat!

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

celebrities
3

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Carol Townend7 months ago

    I think people are too quick to judge nowadays. Getting wealthy doesn't happen over night, and it does often take a lot of work. Not everyone who is 'wealthy' has a rich man with millions behind them either! -Great work Jide!

  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great work! Amazing!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.