Humans logo

How I Feel About My Old Movies - Queen Nwokoye

Queen Nwokoye talks acting career, old movies

By Jide OkonjoPublished 9 months ago 4 min read
Like

Nigerian actress Queen Nwokoye is one of the funniest and most diverse actresses in Nollywood with a career that spans over a decade. While Queen is highly beloved by the public, she is also very private and hardly does interviews. However, during a new interview with The Sun, the actress is opening up about what motivated her to get into acting, how her family and friends reacted to it, and how she reacts to watching her old movies today. Here's what Queen Nwokoye had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Queen Nwokoye

Speaking about what motivated her to get into acting, Queen Nwokoye said:

QUEEN NWOKOYE: Nothing really. I have always loved watching movies, and I was fascinated by them; being someone that was always on my own, I used to read a lot of novels. You need to see my novel library, you will scream. I just felt I could do it and I went after it. Motivation, that idea of playing different characters. I am always fascinated at interpreting different roles, putting myself in different characters and wanting them to come to life.

Speaking about how her family and friends reacted to her acting career, Queen Nwokoye said:

QUEEN NWOKOYE: I didn’t really have any problem with my family because all the while they always rang it in my ears that once I finished university I could do whatever I wanted and they would support me. Their own was, just get good grades in school. Once you could do that, you are fine. So, after my degree, I went for my Youth Service. I came back and I told them I wanted to go into acting. They didn’t really object. My mum said, you know I trained you well (she was a vice principal then) and you know what is good and what is bad. Just go out there and make us proud. So, I took her advice. My friends were different. It was a different game with them. They watched my movies and they screamed, how? Is this really you? All the while they saw me as a very quiet and reserved person, so when they saw me acting those crazy roles they screamed, what is going on? This cannot be Queen. (Laughs) I get that from them all the time and I’m happy. That suggests that I’m doing something out of the norm or something that is not me. They understand it’s the profession and they are very happy for me and with me.

Speaking about how she feels watching her old movies today, Queen Nwokoye said:

QUEEN NWOKOYE: As you get older in the game, you learn more techniques, polish yourself more. When I watch my old movies today, I laugh and grin most times. What?! That’s terrible! But at the end of the day it’s still the same motivation. Once you have passion for something, it hardly dies off.

What do you think about Queen Nwokoye, and what she said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

If you want to follow me on social media, I am also on Facebook and in the process of growing my account on there. So please, feel free to follow me

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.