Humans logo

How I Feel about Almost All My Colleagues Now Doing Youtube Channel - Uzor Arukwe

Uzor speaks his mind

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a month ago 3 min read
Like

These days, it seems like every other actor is announcing a new Youtube channel or promoting a new Youtube film. It's like Youtube has become the new haven for a lot of Nigerian filmmakers, and people have very mixed feelings about it. During an interview with Arise, popular actor Uzor Arukwe was asked on his thoughts about it, and here's what he had to say about the whole thing.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

When asked about the surge of his colleagues now starting their own Youtube channels and acting in Youtube productions, Uzor Arukwe said:

UZOR ARUKWE: Well, as a practitioner, it's a very difficult question to answer because it's putting food on a lot of people's tables. I must be very honest with you. A lot of people are eating from it, both crew members and actors alike, and the producers. It's feeding a lot of people.

As an artist however, art takes time, and anybody that knows me knows that I'm a big advocate for creating art that will last. I feel like we have gone past the level of rushing filmmaking. Filmmaking is a craft that takes time. It's very collaborative. The synergy has to be right. So I feel like yes, it's working, and it's feeding people, and I'm not going to downplay that because it pays me. I have done a lot of Youtube films. But as an artist, I want to be able to do films that are properly cooked, properly done. We've put time and money into it, and then we've created something that will outlive us artists, or us actors.

But in the role of Nollywood, yes, it is paying a lot of people. It has come to stay. The thing about we Nigerians as that whatever we put our hands on, we'll do it better than any other person. Or we'd do it more. They want to earn in dollars, they want to earn in foreign currency, and I think that's mostly because of the hardship in the economy of the nation.

But because of how passionate I am about the craft, I want to join the bandwagon, and I want to make as much money, but I want us to be able to make films that outlive us. As an actor, if I make a film, I want to make a film that will resonate with me. I want to tell stories that I would be proud of. Not just making stories just because I want to earn money.

What do you think about what Uzor said? And what do you think about this new Youtube boom? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.