Humans logo

How I Almost Got Scammed by Man Claiming to Be Uti Nwachukwu - Erica

Erica narrates near-scam ordeal

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian actress, model, influencer, and reality TV star Erica Nlewedim is one of the most famous women in Nigeria and in the continent today. After her stint on Big Brother Naija season 5 (Lockdown season) where she was disqualified, she became a household name and has continued on to a film and socialite career that not many ex-housemates from the show are opportune to have.

Erica Nlewedim

According to Erica, she always knew she wanted to be famous but she never knew how. As a young woman trying desperately to make it into the entertainment industry, it is not shocking that she came across a number of conmen and people trying to take advantage of her on her climb up. Narrating a particular story on how she almost got scammed by 'Uti Nwachukwu' to Uti Nwachukwu on Behind The Glam, Erica told a very interesting story that is but a sliver of what many budding and models have to face on their climb to the top. Here's what Erica said:

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Erica on Behind The Glam

Speaking about how she almost got scammed by a man claiming to be Uti Nwachukwu, Erica said:

Immediately I graduated from uni cuz I was like "Ah I want to blow in this industry" and everything, I used to model. Like I wasn't actually out there but I used to tell everybody I was a model. So I would be doing photoshoots up and down. And then I posted a lot on Facebook then somebody approached me. The person's name was Uti so I thought I was talking to you (the real Uti Nwachukwu). The person was like oh would you like to do a billboard shoot? I said okay. The person said oh give me your BB Pin. I gave my pin. We were chatting. But the person was always so rude. I was like wait, I didn't approach you, you approached me. So what happened? You're the one that approached me. Then he was like "Oh, don't you know I'm Uti. I have things to do. I'm busy. So if I'm talking to you, you better be grateful." I now started suspecting that yeah, something is wrong. Then he now asked me for 50k. I said "Okay. You are so called Uti right? You're literally rude to me because oh, I should be grateful. Then how come 50k is your problem?" I insulted him. Ah! I insulted him. No no no no, ah! All the insults I was stomaching from the guy, immediately I just knew ah this one is fake. I said ehnnnn, they wrote mumu on my forehead shey, I will give you fire for fire.

Erica and the real Uti laughing about the situation on the show

Eventually, Erica made it without this fake Uti Nwachukwu's help and ended up not falling for his trap. A lot of other young women have been lured into such scams and lost huge sums of money all in a pursuit of fame. While Erica's story is funny and entertaining, please be careful of internet fraudsters. Also for those trying to enter into the entertainment industry, please be very careful as there are many scammers out there trying to get rich off of your desperation.

What do you think of Erica's story and have you ever been approached by a scammer claiming to be someone famous? Let me know by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.