Humans logo

Honest Truth about Growing Up Without A Father - Priscilla Ojo

Priscilla gets honest

By Jide OkonjoPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian media personality, influencer, and business woman Priscilla Ojo is famously the daughter of Nollywood actress Iyabo Ojo. Both mother and daughter are very famous in their own rights and both women constantly support each other, post pictures wearing matching outfits, and basically exude a very nice mother/daughter bond.

However, while we see Priscilla with her mom all the time, we do not see a lot of Priscilla's father in the picture. During a new interview with BTS Reality, Priscilla Ojo finally opened up about how it was growing up with a single mother, and if it ever made her feel depressed. Here is what Priscilla Ojo had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Priscilla Ojo during interview

During her interview, Priscilla Ojo was asked "Growing up with just a single mum, did that ever make you depressed?" She responded saying:

PRISCILLA OJO: I will say maybe I had daddy issues in the sense that I just wanted that love. I felt like my mum filled in every position so it's just like when you see online and you want that daddy, but to me, I feel like my mum literally did everything perfect. So like I wouldn't say I was depressed at any point because I feel like we came from a lineage of strong women. I am very strong, my mum is very strong. I have never seen my mum cry. I have never seen her cry. We have never had moments where we were crying, never. My mother is very strong and I learned from her. So even when I go through something, she can never see me down. We have that spirit of we are not gonna [cry], like that energy is not in this house. So I can be on my bed crying, when she comes in, I'm dancing. When I'm down, she knows, but you won't see her come to [speak in low voice], it's "oh you're going to the club, oya go and have fun!". You get the vibe without speaking, do you understand? And that is how I want to train my kids, to be strong. Sometimes, being strong can be very overwhelming because sometimes you just want to be that girl, you just want to let go, you just want to be weak. Because being strong, it's like you're holding so much emotion.

The Ojo family

What do you think about what Priscilla Ojo said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

If you want to follow me on alternative social media, I am now on Twitter and in the process of growing my account on there. So please, feel free to follow me on Twitter as well @JideOkonjo.

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.