Humans logo

Happiness in a Bottle

How I capture whole worlds and hide them in plain sight.

By Sascha HöggerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Living in London, the visual experience can sometimes be a bit limited, and limiting. Luckily, I have access to a roof terrace with a gorgeous view, which made me think about how much fun owning a telescope would be.

A simple concept: looking through a hole and seeing a very detailed snippet of a scene far away. But what if instead of just zooming into a scene, I could look through a hole and see something magical? Instead of a closer look at the same old construction sites and crumbling brick, what if I could access an alternate world? Not a portal, but a keyhole to a different place I can peek through - wouldn’t this be amazing?

So I made it.

It started with a doodle in my phone’s notes, where so many “good idea”s and “I should try this one day...”s go to die.

But I allowed this little dream to live a bit longer when I made a clay prototype. Nothing complicated, just a flat bottom with a little cube on it, covered by a dome which I poked two rough holes into; one to peek inside, one to let light in.

Failure.

The “house in a bottle” did not have the softly lit ethereal elegance I had in mind. It was a deformed vase with a secret nobody would ever care to uncover hidden inside. But this showed me that, while the light might need adjusting, I almost had the skills to almost form a bottle. So I carried on. New materials for translucence, new files for smoothness, new scissors of all sizes for sizing, shaping, correcting and texturing, more time, more patience, more coffee - and soon my second prototype was ready to reveal it’s hidden insides.

Success!

This time, what I had planned to be an unassuming, plain white bottle one might display a flower in revealed a scene of two small houses when looked into and held against a light. The concept worked: a minimalist bottle that can be used as a vase or a decorative accent that nobody would take much note of. But looking inside would reveal such wonders. And with this, I began to fiddle, improve, iterate, prototype and produce.

My second prototype popped out of the oven on May 2nd of 2021. Just over a month later, I have sold 8 bottles with hidden scenes inside and another 16 custom orders are waiting to be brought to life.

So now I build worlds in bottles. For hours on end, I sit down, listen to a podcast or Italian 80’s, drink way too much coffee and spend hours carving out detailed houses smaller than a fingerprint, and greenery, appliances, beasts and spirits even smaller. I’m in awe of what I am able to create with a bit of clay, precise scissors and some imagination. I’ve built houses with gardens next to ponds, smoke from the chimney acting as an invitation to come in for a cup of coffee; I created woodlands where fairies meet in secret when - almost - nobody is watching; I have given characters from my childhood new homes in their own worlds; I have given tiny clay koi carp a home in a calm stream runing through a Japanese garden underneath a wisteria; and much more.

What never fails to amaze me - without trying to brag - is how I keep receiving order requests for things I know I cannot make, and how I then make them. A couple hours after I wanted to tell a customer that I can’t make a dragon, I made a dragon. A gorgeous one, at that, marbled with gold, with twisted horns, scales shaped with a needle, spines formed with nothing but a pair of scissors, the eyes two dots of gold. And it worked. I couldn’t make a frog until I sat down and did it anyway. I knew I couldn’t possibly build the house from my favourite childhood show, the Moomins, without doing it a disservice, until I spent 5 hours shaping, baking, carving and re-shaping a gorgeous thumb sized replica of it. Now whenever I am tired of the city, I take a deep breath, pick up my bottle, look inside and just like that, I am in Moominvalley.

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.