Humans logo

Grandma's Star

Grandma's Star

By Holder SildenPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

The first memory the world gave me is: I lay in my grandmother's arms, desperately crying, holding quite a son, also do not know what is for, crying so sad. A piece of grey skin had peeled off the wall outside the window, in the shape of an ugly old man. Grandma put her arms around me and patted me, "Oh oh." I felt more wronged. "Hark! Grandma suddenly said, "Listen quickly, do you hear..." I listened and stopped crying. I heard a beautiful sound, floating, slow... Is it a pigeon whistle? Is the autumn wind? Are the leaves falling across the eaves? Or, just grandma humming softly. Even now, I don't know. "Oh oh, go to sleep, horse monkey to come I hit it..." That's Grandma's lullaby. There was a flickering shadow on the roof, the sunlight reflected off the water in the basin. Light and shadow are also so floating and slow, changing into a peaceful dream. I slept soundly in my grandmother's arms...

I was brought up by my grandmother. I do not know how many people in front of my grandmother said: "grandma brought up, grew up also can not forget grandma." I knew something then, lying on my grandmother's knee, staring with my little eyes at the people who spoke, and thinking, "Look at you!" Translated into language children can't yet master: "Do you say that?"

Grandma tightly hug me in the arms, smiled: "wait for less than that time yo!" As if he were already satisfied.

"Can't it wait?" I asked.

"I can't wait for you to honor Grandma with a handful of fava beans."

I couldn't stop laughing. I knew she didn't really mean it. But I always wondered what I would buy her when I earned the money. When her father, uncle and uncle bought anything for her, she said, "It's not necessary to spend so much money on this." Grandma's favorite is that I step on her waist, step on the back. At night, she often had backache and backache, so she asked me to stand on her and step on her back and forth. She lay on the bed "ouch ouch", but also a strong praise me: "small feet step on, soft soft, really feel good." That's the last thing I want to do. "Okay?" I asked. "Two more steps." I strode back and forth: "All right?" "Oh, that's all right." I got down quickly, put on my shoes, ran away... So I said: "Grow up I also you step on the waist." "Well, won't that stomp me to death?" After a while, I asked, "Why can't you wait till then?"

"Old and not dead?"

"What happens when you die?"

"Then you'll never find Grandma again."

I don't shout, also don't ask, honestly nestled in grandma's arms. That was my first terrible impression of the world.

One winter afternoon, when I woke up, my grandma was gone. I was clinging to the windowsill and Shouting for her. There was wind and snow outside the window. "Grandma has gone out to see her aunt." I don't believe it. Grandma always takes me to her aunt's house. I cried for a whole afternoon, mom, dad, neighbors who can not coax, until the evening grandma unexpectedly came back. No one can remember it, and no one knows what I thought. When I was a child, grandma scare me the best way, that is to say: "don't listen, grandma died!"

On a summer night, the sky is full of stars. Grandma told a different story, she did not say that the death of a person on the ground, the sky will be extinguished a star, but said that a person on the ground died, there will be a star in the sky.

"What is it?

"When a man dies, he becomes a star."

"Why the stars?"

"Shine a light on the wayfarer..."

We sat in the courtyard, grass jasmine are open, various colors of small morning glory, pinch a blow on the mouth, sometimes can blow. Grandma used a big banana fan to blow away the mosquitoes. The cool wind, the blue sky, the shining stars, will always stay in my memory.

At that time, I did not know how to ask, is everyone dead can become a star, can give the living people to light the way.

Grandma had been dead for many years, and the grandson she brought up could not forget her. Though now I think of her stories and know they are myths, I often look up on summer evenings like a child and wonder which star is Grandma... Take your time to think about the myth Grandma told you. I believe that every person who has lived can add some light to the road of future generations, maybe a star, maybe a torch, maybe just a tearful candle......

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Holder Silden

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.