Humans logo

Fix You

When She Breaks but He's There

By Maddy VinklePublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like
When She Breaks but He's There

I've lived in L.A. for six months. It's been a big change, considering I come from a small town in Connecticut. I phone my sister Claire up because we promised each other we'd go to the next Beauty and Broken concert together. We are both huge fans.

Claire: "Hey ,Melissa! What's up?"

Melissa: "I was wondering if you could get two days off from work next week."

Claire: "Sorry, there's no way my boss would let me. I'm completely swamped at work."

Melissa: "Oh... I was asking because Beauty and Broken is having a concert in L.A. next Tuesday and we promised each other we'd go together."

Claire: "Right, I remember seeing that listed somewhere. I've been meaning to call you and tell you to go by yourself. I can always go by myself some other time and I know how much that band means to you."

"Are you sure?" I ask, hoping she'd say yes because I really want to go.

Claire: "I'm positive. I know you'd do the same thing for me if the situation were reversed."

Melissa: "Ok, I'll let you get back to your work now. Thank you so much for allowing me to go."

Claire: "Bye, M! Tell me all about the concert after."

Melissa: "Of course! Bye, C."

Awesome. I get to go—now to find the perfect outfit for the concert... I finally decided on my see-through black top with the white star on it (I'll be wearing a black tank top underneath), bright purple skinny jeans, and all-black converse.

Now to wait until the concert.

***time skip-1 week***

I arrive at the concert with my VIP pass in hand (I could get myself a VIP ticket because I wasn't paying for Claire's ticket anymore). There were only about twenty other people; they're all wearing VIP passes because we all had to arrive two hours early.

We get inside and are led to the backstage area. There aren't many people around except for cameramen. The band members must be in their dressing rooms. All of us VIP people wait there for the next two hours.

Finally, it's time for BaB to enter onto the stage. The band members high-five us as they walk on stage and all the other people get super excited and giddy, except for me. I think I see Michael give me a questioning look as he walks past. The band members can see us from where we are but the crowd can't.

The concert was amazing!! I love Michael; he is the only one who can make me happy and smile when I'm in my dark moments; his music is the reason I am still alive. I got an autographed ticket because of my VIP pass. I get in line and after about twenty minutes of waiting, I get to the front and hand my Already with Another CD to Michael. He signs it while I am telling him how much his music inspires me.

Before I have enough time to finish my thought, my sleeve rolls up a little as I grab my CD and for split second, my self-harm cuts are showing. I run out of the room as fast as I can.

I wait around for about an hour after the concert has ended, seeing if any of my new Los Angeles friends can give me a ride because the walk from The Staples Centre home is not safe in the dark. I'm just about to give up and walk away when I hear a door open behind me.

I turn around.

Michael is walking towards me, with an indecipherable expression on his face. He sits down in the seat beside me in the big auditorium.

"Hey, what's your name?" Michael asks.

"Umm, my name is Melissa," I reply.

"Hi, Melissa. Did you enjoy the concert?" Michael asks me.

"Yes. It was the best concert I have seen," I reply.

"I'm glad. Well, then there are only two reasons you could be sad," he states.

"Either 1. My band didn't play your favourite song. Or 2. It has something to do with the self-inflicted cuts on your arms," Michael reasoned.

"You played my favourite song which is 'Already with Another' and 'Dancing to the Moon,' but my favourite song that you didn't play is 'When Her Eyes Dig',” I state shyly.

"Well, I'll tell you what, I'll sing 'When Her Eyes Dig' for you now," he tells me while smiling. And that is what he does. He sings the song while holding my hand, and I love every minute of it.

As he finishes the song, he checks his phone for the time and bolts out of his seat.

"I was totally wanting to talk about your cuts and make sure you were ok, but I realized that I have to get back to the tour bus. The band needs to be in Portland shortly," Michael says, looking sad.

"That is really ok. I'm very grateful that you even sat with me and sang for me." I say, coyly.

"I know, but I wanted to help you. Here, pass me your phone," he demands.

I unlock my phone and pass it to Michael, a little confused about the reason for the request. He types something in and hands it back to me.

"That's my phone number. Please text me and we can talk more. I don't know exactly when I'll be back in L.A. but maybe you'd want to go out for coffee with me?" Michael asks.

"Of course, I'd love to!" I reply eagerly, my smile evident on my face.

"Ok, great. Bye Melissa!"

"Bye Michael!"

And with that, I embark on my walk home, happy to know that I have Michael's phone number in my phone.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.