Humans logo

Finland’s Obsession With The Paper

The sacredness of the paper: Thou shalt not tear the paper!

By Noor Published 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Finland’s Obsession With The Paper
Photo by Jason Yuen on Unsplash

In Finland, everything works in systematic ways.

One of the biggest lessons I learned in my first year in Finland since I moved here from Australia back in 2010 is to protect my paper evidence with all my power. Finland is the land of paper-based evidence.

Whether it's government organizations, grocery stores, or a random person on the street you are trying to prove your point to, they will not take you seriously until you have paper-based evidence of what you are claiming.

Paper evidence is very sacred in Finland’s introverted systematic culture. And so it should be, as there are times we need to look at the evidence and data before we move ahead with decisions.

In rare cases, saving the receipt from last night’s dinner at your local restaurant may save you from being questioned at a crime scene and serve as strong evidence for your innocence.

I get it: it's important and can be life-saving.

But please Finland, slow it down a bit!

Now, that's another story for another day.

We sit down for a few hours each fortnight to sort out the paperwork, and filter everything, and store what we deem necessary.

For example, with each hospital visit or dental visit, you are sent an overview letter in the mail summarizing what was discussed, concluded, and the doctor’s decision on the next steps.

The same applies to interviews, meetings, and complaints that have been issued either by you or against you.

This is great as it keeps you informed but creates an overflow of evidence and paperwork that you need to handle, filter and declutter every month.

It not only creates unnecessary clutter, but risks your privacy as every slightest detail is documented and sent to you in the mail.

For people dealing with trauma, toxic relationships and anxiety issues, you want to protect the details of these private discussions rather than having them distributed to you in the mail.

Apart from your essential paperwork like your driver’s license, passport, and residence permit, I find that I would always need to carry extra paperwork with me depending on where I am going.

Luckily, now everything has become digital and can be accessed on the app system, including the digitalization of grocery receipts and contracts. However, paper-based communication receives the number one priority.

Thankfully, recently the Finish system switched to electronic-based reports that can be accessed by using your bank codes to identify and log into the online system.

If god-forbid, when one paper is lost, misplaced, or ‘accidentally’ thrown, it can spiral a cycle of weeks of torment in order to replace the paper or convince the organization or government issues that you are not lying and that the paper is really lost.

As I write this, I'm planning out a new organizational system in my head to store all the papers for all my kids, husband, myself, my business, and let's not forget the cat! :)

By Alvan Nee on Unsplash

Disclaimer:)

I love Finland and I am really grateful to be here in this wonderful innovative country surrounded by a thousand lakes and breathtaking scenery.

In no way am I criticizing the culture or the people and I respect our differences in thought and value system.

Check out other Finnish obsessions I covered:

If you would like to support my journey, then kindly subscribe to my youtube channel where I will be sharing updates as well as step-by-step guides on my passive income journey as well as business strategies and tricks. Subscribe here.

About The Author

Noor is a second-year business student at Tredu. She is also studying for Diploma in International Smart Industry at Tampere University. She is passionate about marketing and content creation. She recently launched her YouTube channel specializing in holistic healing.

travel
1

About the Creator

Noor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.