Humans logo

Finding Myself

in the Movies

By Shirley BelkPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
5
Summerland

The minute I saw this challenge, I knew I had to write about the movie, "Summerland." Again. You see, I already entered a challenge before about why I loved this movie: https://vocal.media/geeks/i-fell-in-love-with-summerland. But, my mind (or heart) just wouldn't turn it off. So, this endeavor took me to a deeper look into myself to find the answers. The questions I had were telling.

"Why do I love World War II movies so much?" "Why do I love movies set in the English countryside? "Why do children being a main character make me trust the world a bit more? Why am I fascinated with movies that pivot from one time in a person's life and then to another?" And lastly, "Why am I drawn to movies dealing with unconventional relationships?"

The movie, Summerland, of course, has all these components and when I look at that story and some of my other favorites with some of the same components, I got the depth and width of my own self wrapped up in a bow.

If you will allow me, and if you love some of the same intricacies in movies as I do, then I will share my journey into self and the movies that have been a looking glass for me with you.

I had three uncles who served our country during that era of the 1940s. One was in the Marines, one in the Army, and one in the Navy. Growing up I saw pictures of them in their uniforms, heard their stories, and read the letters they had sent home to their mother and sisters. They were my heroes...and thankfully, they all came home from that war.

I can only attribute my love to the English countryside, it's hills, their sea, the greenery of the land to my ancient DNA. I am almost sixty percent British/Irish. I feel it in my bones and I can smell the air as it is swept up on the craggy rocks from the windy sea waters. I don't have to visit. Somehow, I've already been there.

The best days of my life were not of my childhood, but of watching my four children grow up, watching them as they peacefully slept, seeing their beautiful handmade art, accepting flowers they had picked for me, and so much more. And then came my grandchildren and I got to see the faces and actions of my own children once again in them. Some movies help me see childhood better...from a child's viewpoint. Those make me smile.

There are hundreds of movies about those glory days in the 40s that shaped my mother's world. When I think of them, I see her in my heart. I see the clothes she wore then, I see the way that time just stopped there and I can retrace it through her eyes. And I see how those times shaped her for years to come. And I understand the lessons she taught me in regard to humanity.

Some of these historical era movies (other than Summerland,) are "The Boy in the Striped Pajamas," "Narnia," "The Book Thief," and "The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society." And "Schindler's List" never to be forgotten.

Now, at my age, in my seventh decade, I switch back and forth in time via the memories I've had. I think I've even learned to embrace the not so good ones. I suppose this is a normal process of life for all in this life stage. Maybe seeing others relive their lives lessens the heartaches and also makes the great moments even sweeter. Two movies (which pivot) but which have nothing whatsoever to do with any war or the 1940s, but has everything to do with choices, those pivotal times in our lives, and personal perception and reflection that I particularly loved were, "The Life of Pi" and "Family Man."

Unconventional relationships...well, what does that mean exactly? One that goes against the norm? Are there or has there ever been any "norm" anyways? Maybe relationships are all complicated because humans are. All I know for sure is that the heart can be broken and it has a tremendous capability for love. Wisdom is getting the brain involved in the process, though. But there can be a big battle between the two, as well. (Sort of like when reality and faith collide.) Watching the love stories of others in their own struggles maybe help us to understand our own.

In the movie, "Summerland," there is a lesbian relationship. My first grandchild, a woman now, considers herself a lesbian. I am trying desperately to wrap my head around this notion. I will always completely and unconditionally love her. I recently watched the beautiful Netflix documentary, "A Secret Love." It has helped me to have more compassion in this day and age.

Perhaps, the most complicated relationship we can each have is the one with ourselves and with a Higher Being. Life is hard and we wonder what the purpose of it all is and how exactly we fit in this arena called earth. The movies that best answered that for me were "The Five People You Meet in Heaven" and "The Shack."

I guess you can tell that I love movies. I love real-life/inspirational ones that leave me to be a better person somehow...more grateful, more alive, and more willing to become involved in loving others. If you've enjoyed some of these, please hit the "heart" to let me know. And if you haven't seen them, I totally encourage you to!

movie review
5

About the Creator

Shirley Belk

Mother, Nana, Sister, Cousin, & Aunt who recently retired. RN (Nursing Instructor) who loves to write stories to heal herself and reflect on all the silver linings she has been blessed with

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    👍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.