Humans logo

Finding Love Again

Little Black Book

By Ericka HayesPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

The Little Black Book by Ericka Hayes

Veronica, a 27-year-old software designer, leaned back in her recliner as she enjoyed her Virtual Reality Meditation moment. She looked around her meditation room to study the sunrise motif, trying to keep her mind clear of thoughts for the next 10 minutes. So much was going on around her and she was trying to prepare her mind for the difficult day ahead. Counseling was Jonathan’s idea and as much as she wanted to refuse, she just didn’t have the heart to walk away from him without allowing him to explore this one last avenue. Jonathan had an extremely tough childhood and although she knew those things contributed to his bad behavior, there was just no excuse for a grown man to be so, well, selfish and immature. Hopefully he would listen to the counselor, get some help or yell at her too and storm out.

When the meditation went off, the meditation room doors slid open and she exited into the kitchen. She pushed a few buttons on the refrigerator and fresh juice filled the cup that dropped under the juicing compartment. After she drank her juice, the got dressed and headed for the skyport to get into her vehicle. Once she arrived at the therapist’s office, she checked in, sat down, and picked up one of the tablets on the table and browsed through a few programs before the receptionist called her name.

After the 50-minute session was over, she rushed to her car so she wouldn’t have to rehash the events that had just taken place during the session with Jonathan. On her way out of the building, she tripped over something on the ground. It was a piece of leather wrapped around some paper. She stared at it quizzically, thinking she had seen these types of books before but only in the old movies she watched with her mother. She picked it up and took it with her to the car. Once she was inside the car, she opened the book to find pages and pages of handwritten notes. This must be an important part of history, she thought. She had never seen a book in real life so she studied it carefully. As she thumbed through the pages, she noticed a piece of paper folded between the pages. She carefully unfolded the tattered sheet and started to read the words.

“My dearest Ericka, I hope this letter finds you well. I asked the nurse to give you this book in the event of my passing. I hoped someone would let you know I was sick and tell you where I was but after so many weeks passed and I didn’t get better… Well, I hope you know that I always loved you and I searched for you for years. I didn’t mean to mess things up with you. I finally got my issues worked out but it was too late. I am sorry for that. I hope one day you can find it in your heart to forgive me. Before I checked into the hospital, I changed my life insurance beneficiary to you. What I could not give you in life I hope I can give you in death. Babe, I never stopped loving you. All my love, Ebon.”

There was an additional page in the book that was a copy of an insurance policy in the letter’s addressee’s name worth $20,000. Veronica stared at the paper and wondered if the lady was still alive. She started the car and headed home as quickly as she could. She grabbed a cup of tea and headed to the computer to search the beneficiary name. When she found the person’s name, she made a video call and asked to speak to the woman.

An older, brown skinned woman appeared on the video screen, looking at Veronica oddly.

Do I know you? The woman asked.

No ma’am. I found something that might belong to you so I wanted to contact you to give it to you.

Oh, okay. What did you find? She asked.

I found a black book with a letter addressed to you. Would you like me to scan it to your screen? Veronica asked.

Yes, dear, please, the woman answered, as she put her glasses on and moved closer to her terminal.

As the woman read the letter, Veronica saw tears rolling down the woman’s face. When she was finished reading, she looked at the second page and just shook her head slowly.

Veronica looked at her, not wanting to interrupt the moment. Finally, the woman spoke.

This means everything to me, young lady. Wherever did you find it?

It was laying on the ground when I came out of the building downtown earlier. This looked important so I wanted to try to find you to get it to you, Veronica said.

What building were you in downtown? The woman asked

Gaines Tower, on Third Street.

Gaines? That is Ebon’s last name. The lady said.

Veronica stared at the screen. Ma’am, the papers were in this book. I can have it sent over to you tonight, if you like.

Yes, please, if you don’t mind. Thank you so much. He was someone I truly loved. How can I ever repay you? The woman asked.

No payment necessary. I hope getting this helps you, ma’am. Veronica said.

Veronica gave the woman her contact information and the woman had a courier come by and pick up the book and the papers. A few days later, Veronica got a video call from the lady. When the video came on, there was an older gentleman sitting beside her.

Hi Veronica. This is Ebon. Ebon, this is the young lady that found your book.

Veronica looked puzzled. I thought…

No, the man said, I didn’t die. I was very sick though. I dropped the book that day outside of the building because I was trying to help someone who was hurt. When I realized the book was gone, I traced back my steps but couldn’t find it. I always thought she moved away but you found her for me! Thank you so much, young lady! He exclaimed.

Veronica looked at the way they were looking at each other. She could tell just how much love must have still been between them.

We sent you something, he went on. We hope you like it!

After they said good-bye, a courier came to the door and dropped off a box. When Veronica opened the box, there was a black notebook with her name embossed on it, a note and a check for $20,000.

The note read:

You have given us one of the greatest gifts we could have imagined. Sometimes love is not enough and people just can’t stay together because life happens. Sadly, love doesn’t just go away. Thankfully, in our case, our time apart gave us occasion to improve and grow. We definitely hope you will dance at out wedding. Keep this black book for your thoughts. You never know what life may bring.

Veronica could not believe it. It was so wonderful the couple got back together but why the $20,000 check? When she looked at the check, she realized the check came from Gaines Industries. When she looked it up, she saw a picture of the man from the video on the website. Apparently, once he recovered in the hospital, he went on to invest in real estate, including the building she had her therapy in. She was still amazed at the coincidence of it all.

Veronica sat staring at her video phone for a while and decided to call Jonathan.

He, Jon. She said. Let’s continue the therapy. I do love you and I think we might have something here…

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.