Humans logo

Faith

Little Black Book

By Audrey E MillerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Heartbroken, as I walked through the airport feeling depressed and lonely. Loneliness was something that was all to familiar with me, never felt as if I belonged or accepted. So here I am again leaving to go back home, fired from my job, relationship in the toilet.

After buying this one way ticket, I have about $1.06 in my account.

I know they say “you should be grateful for the little things”, but what little things do I have? Good question.

As I sat down in one of the chairs near my boarding gate, there was this book in the next seat, a little black book. Not thinking nothing of it, I picked it up, looking around to see if there was someone close by who could of left it here, but there was no one.

It was a regular looking book, like a journal almost, black leather, old looking yellowish paper and a suede tie, to hold it closed, there was also a black fountain pen on the inside of the suede tie.

Not very unique, but there was something about it that peaked my interest, after looking around one more time to see if anyone would be walking up to claim it. I didn’t want anyone seeing me being noisy, you know a person’s privacy and all.

I took out the fountain pen, very fancy, untied the suede rope that was around the book, opened it to read the first page.

Before reading I noticed the writing, beautifully artistic, on the inside of the cover it read “To Whom It May Concern”, which I found very strange, but curiosity got the best of me so I kept in reading.

“Who shall ever find this book, may it find you well. I know that things may be rough, you feel that nothing ever goes right, your heart is broken and your soul feels lost”.

I couldn’t believe what I was reading, it was if whoever wrote this was talking to me. I closed the book for a moment, it felt weird and I should just put it down and leave it alone but something was compiling me to continue reading, so I did.

“Never give up, there is always a light that shines from you, whether you know it or not, you fill others with such happiness and love, even though you don’t feel it yourself.

Because I see the goodness in you,

I want you to look in the back of this book, go ahead look now, then come back and continue to read.”

I was like, what?????

What the hell is going on, now I was scared and looking around to see if this was some prank for media purposes, but there was no one, just me and this little black book.

So I got the nerve up and look in the back of the book, and there it was, which I still can’t believe, $20,000, in hundred dollar bills neatly together.

I cried, couldn’t believe what I was looking at or what was happening, kept looking around waiting for the punchline, but nothing happened. So I went back to the page to continue reading.

“If you have found the money, and have continued reading this, then you are definitely chosen for this most grateful gift. All that I ask of you is to leave this little black book somewhere someone may need it, just as you have needed it. Also to write something of encouragement in the book for all to see. Thank you”

All I could do in that moment was cry, I felt so lost, heartbroken and depressed, now here a miracle was bestowed upon me, for reasons I can’t understand, but I am truly grateful.

I took the fountain pen, started flipping through the pages to find a blank one, so many have written in this little black book, so many miracles and now it was my turn.

I left these inspirational words for the next person who needed a miracle, “Whatever is worrying you right now, forget about it. Take a deep breath, stay positive and believe that things will get better”.

I smiled after writing my part, over head they were calling my gate to start boarding, as I closed the book, tied the suede rope and put the fountain pen back, it gave me a sense of giving and hope for the next person. I don’t know who, what or why did this, but I am truly blessed and grateful for the new start. Before I boarded the plane, left the little black book on a table and as I walked away smiling, knowing it would find its way into the right hands as it did mine.

Story by Audrey E Miller

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.