Humans logo

Exes and Oh's: Part 19

Serena and Marley Series

By Sharlene AlbaPublished 6 years ago 6 min read
Like
Photo by rawpixel on Unsplash

MARLEY

"Thanks for helping me out this weekend, Danny," I mentioned as we pulled up to the Casa Del Mar Beachfront Condo Hotel. The dark gray clouds were a sign of heavy rains fixing to come, which meant my plan for this weekend was definitely going to work.

"No problem. This place looks amazing. I might take over that timeshare if you and Freddy ain't keeping it," Danny replied as the valet host took my car keys and suitcase out of the trunk. There wasn't a single piece of clothing in there. Just some stacked up magazines to make it feel heavy enough so Danny wouldn't suspect a thing. As soon as he realized what was really going on, he was going to be livid. But he asked for my help, and this is the only way I knew how.

"Sounds good. And guess what?! They have an excellent Mexican food section on their menu. Freddy and I had to roll each other out of the dining room the last time we were here," I chuckled, recalling the memory of Freddy carrying me all the way up to our room, and then proceeded to blush when I remembered all the moaning that happened afterwards. It was hard to believe he'd still been paying for this timeshare after all this time, but I was glad it was finally going to be put to good use.

"Don't tell me that. I haven't eaten since this morning," Danny whimpered as we entered the hotel and checked in at the front desk. Freddy had given me the key before we left for Galveston as he continuously tried to convince me not to butt into Danny and Serena's relationship. Some part of me agreed with him, and the other part, the part that secretly believed they still had some chemistry left to burn through, told me there was still a chance those two could have their happy ending.

"So how pissed is she?" Danny asked just as we entered the elevator and the bell boy took us to the luxury suite, which was on the top floor of the hotel, where you had the best view of the beach. It was the beginning of autumn and the chilly weather would only increase here, but nothing could take the beauty away from that beach during sunset.

"She's calmed down since Michael took her offer on his house and her project is finally back on. However, I'd keep my distance if I were you." I warned, reading his pained expression as he sighed. He claimed he hadn't meant for those words to slip out during court, that the desperation to keep his house was what ultimately caused him to win, was at fault. I knew better. Serena was the thorn on his behind he could never bring himself to pull out. He enjoyed the pain as much as she enjoyed making him feel it.

"I made things worse, didn't I?" he added as the elevator stopped on the top floor and the bell boy let us out, pulling our luggage behind him.

"Telling her you still love her when you don't mean it definitely didn't help, Danny," I baited and watched him give me a look before we entered the room.

"You know I meant every word I said." he admitted and I sighed in relief. It was the final piece of the puzzle I needed to reassure myself that I was indeed doing the right thing in bringing those two together. Michael would be here any minute with Serena, and things were about to get uglier if I didn't leave soon. I gave the bell boy I hired a nod and he took my fake luggage out of the room.

"Well, it's up to you to show her this weekend," I stated and he raised an eyebrow as I handed him the keys to the suite and walked towards the door.

"You're not seriously leaving me here alone with the devil, are you?" he questioned, with a hint of trepidation in his gaze as I held back my laughter, handing the bell boy a twenty dollar bill for playing along. He smiled at me, and placed his tip into his front shirt pocket as he took my suitcase to the elevator doors.

"Please try not to break anything in here. Freddy will kill us all. Good luck, Danny!"

"I hate you!"

"I love you too!" I shouted playfully as I made my way towards the elevator and hurried inside as I looked down at my phone for an incoming text from Michael. He should've been here by now, but I still hadn't heard from him since we left Pasadena.

"Marley?" the sound of my name coming from a distinct familiar voice caused goosebumps to form all over my body. Swallowing hard, I prayed it wasn't who I thought it was before I looked up from my phone.

"Damn it. It's you," I blurted out loud and almost dropped my phone when I covered my mouth with my hands. His deep chuckle rumbled from his chest as he caught my phone before it ended up in pieces on the elevator floor, handing it to me, our fingers briefly touching, causing small sparks to form in other parts of my body. He was still a tall drink of water with his buzz cut, tamed scruff and his toned and built navy-made body. His eyes were no better while they skimmed over me heatedly and remembered all the times they watched me undress for him.

Well, shit.

"I guess you're not too happy to see me again." Javier Cortez, one of the many mistakes I made after Freddy and I broke up, claimed and I tried to remember how to breathe as I began to reply.

"I didn't know you were back in the states is all. How are you?" I asked, changing the subject as he stepped closer to give me a hug. He smelled like fresh pine and I tried not to bury my nose into his neck to get a better whiff of his scent. Memories of how we ended things was how I managed to pull away from him and regain my bearings. He had signed up for the navy without bothering to consult me, and was scheduled to be shipped off the next day. There was no time for a proper goodbye. There was no time to tell him how much I wish he would've stayed.

"I'm great now that I ran into you," Javier answered, penetrating my gaze while I cursed myself for still holding a grudge towards him. I had no idea how bad it had been until now. But I trusted God. I knew he wanted me to run into this man again for a reason. Now, if I knew just what that reason was, I would've stayed to torture myself some more.

"I really have to go. But it was nice seeing you again." I hurried out of the elevators as soon as the doors opened and almost tripped on my feet while I walked out of the hotel. I took a deep breath and gave the valet my ticket, so they could hand me back my car and I could run back to Pasadena, straight into the arms of the man I spent alot of time trying to forget in between the sheets of men like Javier Cortez.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Sharlene Alba

Full of raw and unfiltered fluid poems, short stories and prompts on love, sex, relationships and life. I also review haircare, skincare and other beauty products. Instagram: grungefirepoetry MissBeautyBargain Facebook: grungefirepoetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.