Humans logo

Driftwood Ep5

Carry Away

By AmDevLPPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

2 AM in the morning the sedation had worn off about two hours ago. Mack lays in the bed awake. (I still have those books to study) He rubs a hand over his stomach. (And I'm still hungry.) Jay had fallen asleep in the cushioned chair by the window. Mack slowly raised his body lowering his feet to the bed. He quietly pulls the draws open to remove his clothes.

“Where do you think you’re going?” Jay demands just as Driftwood finished buckling his belt.

“I’m tired of being here. I want to go home.” He put his shoes on.

“It’s already this late you might as well wait until the doctor sees you in the morning.”

“I don’t want to w-” Mack's word was interrupted by his bossy stomach.

Jay's eyes light up. His devilish grin returns. "Ah! I see, now. Tum-tum has the munchies. Don't worry I won't let you man starve." He throws on his jacket. "I'll take you home, but only if you let me stay over and watch over you."

“I don’t think.”

“I think it's the only way you're getting out of here.” He pulls open the door. "Come, my friend. Your ride awaits."

They drove a few blocks after leaving the hospital. The car stops outside of a condominium. "Okay wait here. I'll be right back." Jay disappeared inside the building for a few minutes. He came out with four bags a backpack.

“What’s all that for?” He asks as Jay slid back into his seat behind the wheel.

“Provisions.” He sets the car back into motion. “I figure that the must be no food at your house. You caught the bus, so I’m sure you had enough time to eat.”

“Your brain clicks really fast.” Mack acknowledges with a thread of admiration in his voice.

“Surprising since I don’t act like it, right?” He teases.

“That not how I meant it.”

Jay laughs. “I know, I know. I was just kidding.” He turns the next street. “You know? You don’t come across as someone who gets peeved easily. Does that mean I’m special?” His eyes were dancing with glee.

Mack hides the smile those eyes were pulling out of him. (This guy is a little contagious.)

(Finally! I made him smile.) “You look awesome when you’re happy. Are you tired?”

“No. Why?”

“I pack some fun for us.” Jay hints.

They arrive at Mack’s building. He fumbles with his keys as he waits for Jay to grab the bags.(Is this a good idea? Maybe I should come up with some excuse and sent him back. No he just gave me a ride and even pack some stuff for us. I’ll look like a jerk.)

“What’s wrong?” Jay asks. The once smiling face his friend had been now replaced with a worried filled expression.

Mack wrings his hands nervously. “I don’t think this is a good idea.” He suddenly felt really bad. (I shouldn’t have said it like that.)

Jay smile leaning to whisper in his earn. “Stop thinking. It’s better if you relax instead.”

“I don’t know how to react to you.” He finally admitted.

“ You don’t need too. Just be Driftwood and let The River carry you away.” He steals the keys from Mack’s hands. “Third floor right?” He starts walking up the stairs.

Driftwood apartment was lightly furnished. There's an eating table with two chairs. A futon sofa and a full-size bed that can be seen from the bedroom door down the short hall. Jay happily empties the contents of his bag on the table than the kitchen counter.

“Um. That place earlier-”

“Is where I stay with my sister Jean.” He lit the stove after rummaging around for a skillet. “I move out of the dorm a month back. She’s letting me crash at her place until I find an apartment. Hey Mack do you have any allergies?”

He shakes his head. “No. Why? Do you?”

“Not really I just don’t like really fatty milk. I was just checking.” He whips them up a delicious chicken stir fry with pine-nuts. "Don't worry my sister won't mind. Her day off is tomorrow she can the shopping then. I'll return the car to her later. No worries."

After eating, they fold the futon out into a bed. Mack grabs his books to study in his room.

“What do you think you’re doing? The doctor says you need to rest, nourishment. I gave you food. Now I’ll help you rest by relaxing with a little fun.”

“I need to st-”

“You need some fun.” He pulls him onto the folded out bed. "Sit here." He quickly set up a game system he removed from his bag. " Have you ever played 'Tag-team Might'?"

“Who hasn't I played one, two, and three.”

“I have the latest release, number four Cross Demolition.”

Mack's eyes light up. "Do you really?" His voice energized with excitement. "Let's play." They played a few rounds with another team on-line. He kicks his foot at Jay when the lost again. "You made us lose again. What the point of having the game when you suck?"

Jay pokes him back in the side. “I don’t suck they were just really good.” He laughs.

“No, you definitely suck.” He laughs. “Here I’ll show how to play your character better.”

Jay pulls back. “I don’t need you to show me.”

Mack reaches for the controls again. He burst into laughter when his fingers drum softly up his sides. "No fair." They roll around wrestling on the bed. He lands on top. "I win."

“Yeah, you got me where you want me." The River's eyes lock his gaze with Driftwood. "How do you feel? Can you get used to me now?”

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

AmDevLP

I am an Independent Publlisher/Author. I write Online fiction novels and e-books. I have a I have an e-book on amazon and drivethru fiction. I also have a chapter novel on Gumroad.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.