Humans logo

Do You Remember the Most Wanted Technology Device While You Were Growing Up?

Most Wanted Technology Device

By Subhan AhmedPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
Do You Remember the Most Wanted Technology Device While You Were Growing Up?
Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

Most wanted technology device
  1. Today I am going to share with you the most wanted technology device that was used during my childhood years, from the very old version to the latest version. This will help me remember my childhood days and it might help you too! Let’s get started! Here we go...

Your first computer

I remember going to electronics stores with my mom and picking out my first computer. I was so excited about it! My parents said that if I finished high school with good grades, then they would buy me a laptop for college. It was around $1800 but it had everything I needed: 160MB hard drive, 32MB RAM, 2.0MHz Intel Pentium II Processor, a docking station and a CD-ROM drive. My mom found out where the closest Staples store was because they had much better prices than our nearby Computer City store and we hopped in the car right away to go get it.

First Computer

The whole ride there, I thought about all of the amazing things I could do on this computer. From games to designing flyers for school dances and writing up homework assignments; anything seemed possible with this powerful machine. When we got there, there were only two computers left on display in stock; one red Dell model and one blue Compaq model. The Dell looked sleek and modern but the Compaq looked more rugged like an old truck or something. Mom insisted on looking at both of them before making her decision and after playing with them both she chose the Compaq as well saying that she liked how it felt more sturdy than any other computer she’d ever touched before; even though it wasn’t as sleek as its counterpart across from us.

Your first phone

As a child, I remember begging my parents for a Nintendo DS. For Christmas 2006, they finally caved and bought me one. My excitement was tamed as I learned that it wasn't only a gaming system but could also be used as an MP3 player or digital book reader. By the time my sixth grade ended, I had traded in the first Nintendo DS to get something different - an iPod Touch 4th Generation.

First Phone

My friends would always ask if I wanted to play Super Mario Bros on their Nintendo 3DS and honestly at that point, not really. The graphics weren't all that great, so I just got back into reading The Fault In Our Stars by John Green on my iPhone 5s instead. And now we have Pokemon Go. Where will this new technology take us next?

Video games

If you are like me, you still have a Nintendo Entertainment System in your home. Well, guess what, it’s not just us that remember this technology device and want to relive our childhood. The NES is still desired and has made a comeback with collectors and people who want to experience what many remember as some of the best video games ever created.

Video games

This is an amazing opportunity for retailers to jump on board with nostalgia being strong in today’s society. With these mini game consoles being so inexpensive and easy to order through places like Amazon, Toys R Us could capitalize on their current assets by marketing more of these devices for customers looking for this nostalgic feeling in their homes or office.

The coolest handheld game console

It was a tie between two handheld game consoles: Nintendo Game Boy and PlayStation Portable. They were both really cool and in constant demand. I always wanted to play on them whenever I got the chance, but they were scarce. People would sell them or trade with me if they had one, but there was never any guarantee of when I could get one back again. My cousins are twins, so they each had their own console that they’d let me borrow sometimes. But that didn’t happen very often because their mom wasn’t a big fan of the idea (and rightfully so). The two were constantly fighting over it and would go behind each other’s backs to use it without the other knowing. There was even this one time where my cousin told his mom he lost his Game Boy in order to try and get her to buy him another one—his twin found out about it later and grounded him for what felt like an eternity!

Your favorite app of all time

I remember when I had just bought my first laptop and back then, people were constantly asking me how to use it. The thing that made people wonder more than anything was when I would sit in front of my laptop and type. It felt like magic because as long as you could touch a key with your finger, it would produce letters on screen almost instantly.

This is an example of what's called keyboardless technology; if you have ever used a calculator, or watched a TV before, you've seen keyboardless technology at work. And while this innovation may not be all that new anymore, we're still finding new ways to make keyboardless tech work better and smarter for us every day. One way keyboardless tech has been making our lives easier is by introducing voice recognition software, which makes typing a whole lot less tedious. Voice recognition software actually listens to you speak and tells your computer what you want typed out based on what you say.

It's interesting to think about how much time and effort can be saved from using these programs. All in all, the best part about this kind of technology is that it will continue evolving so hopefully one day soon there will be no need for keyboards!

The TV your family was waiting for

In my house, we wanted a TV. We were happy with our black and white one in the living room, but my father wanted to watch his Giants play on Sunday afternoons. Of course, back then not many games were televised locally. And they cost money if you wanted to see them on TV at all. The stores had racks of TVs showing nothing but static because no one could afford what they charged for them. They were expensive: much more than most people earned in a week. I’ll never forget when the news came that our local department store had finally got their shipment of two televisions--black and white--in stock.

He got up from the dinner table, left the food he was cooking unattended, went over to his dresser where he kept his cash reserves hidden away and counted out $150 dollars before returning to tell us he was going out for awhile.I'm going to get us that TV! He said proudly as he gave me a pat on the head before leaving again.

Your favorite item of all time

I never owned a game boy, but there were two items that I always wanted. One was an NES (Nintendo Entertainment System) and the other was a Super Nintendo. When I finally saved up enough money, I was able to buy both of them with my very own money. I remember waking up one morning and asking my mom if she could take me to K-Mart to buy them right away. The moment I got home, I got out a shoebox and started arranging all of my games on it as if they were in a library! Eventually, we also got an Xbox which is still my favorite today because not only can you play video games but it has so many other great features such as Netflix and Skype.

feature
Like

About the Creator

Subhan Ahmed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.