Humans logo

Destiny

A great white barn owl forewarns destiny

By RubbiPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1

Tracey was finally now in the relationship of her dreams or so she thought three weeks before destiny took place and so the story begins… Tadd and I had met on the airplane. He was the passenger sitting beside me and it was love at first sight! He was exactly what I had manifested. A complete gentleman, kind and generous, who cooked for me after getting home late from work, did planning for events, gave massages, and we went to sleep and wake up to the most amazing sex ever. I felt satisfied and like I had it all together. I was amused and on cloud 9! I felt so lucky! On Tuesday evening, I was meeting up with my girlfriends for a night full of zen! Meditation, yoga, bon fire, and more! We were all so very excited as the stars were lining up in a special way to release and manifest our desires. As I drove to meet up at Chantelle’s place, I was on the phone with Tadd telling him about this thrilling event with my friend. He was happy for me and wanted to know all about it afterwards. I said “ok hun I’ll call you on my way back!” Soon after I arrived at Chantelle’s house. She had been such an amazing friend to me especially after my divorce. I thought of how much I loved her energy and was so elated to have her in my life. We then hopped on her car and headed North to the so awaited event! The drive was enchanting with mountain views of nature. Everything seemed so magical already. Our mutual friend Crissy was also meeting up with us there too. When we arrived, the place was full of cars! Oh my, this is so exhilarating, Chantelle said. Crissy was just as ecstatic and rushed to greet and hug us. We then quickly made our way into the event. We had just been a few minutes behind from when it started, and you could feel the vibrant energy all around. Everyone was getting into their spaces and getting comfortable. The session was hosted outdoors on a wooden platform to the wonderful country view with pillows, blankets, and water to stay cozy. It felt nice to be welcomed by other attendees there with much cheer and comfort. The yoga movement began, and it was quite energizing initially, until we slowed down to listen to the lovely humming sounds of Shel, the event hostess, and her playing the guitar in a harmonious beat encouraging relaxation and meditation. Her voice and the sound were unison and we all joined the chorus of the song from the pieces of papers handed out with the verses saying “Ong Namo.” The night slowly began to fall … as the bon fire burst so did the millions of stars above do so too. By the bonfire, was Chantelle with a cozy blanket all around her and speaking to Shel. Crissy and I decided to join and there they were, the tarot cards, to which Chantelle had taken one and was sharing to Shel about. Crissy got excited and reached out for her card. I couldn’t explain the why, but for one I hesitated to grab one and continued with conversation in hopes to forget to take a card. Both Chantelle and Crissy pressed on for me to grab a card. I felt nervous as I looked at the deck of cards. I was feeling so uncertain for some mysterious way. I took a deep breath and reached out for a card with closed eyes. When I looked at the card, there it was a great white barn owl and to the other side the message reading “Change of Destiny.” I did not know what this meant but felt a swift shift inside me that something was going to happen. I wanted to think of positive thoughts like of Tadd proposing to me, but something yet felt uneasy despite my girlfriends cheering me on something remarkable taking place. As the night went on, I enjoyed laughter, sweet drinks, and letting go of what did not serve me that was written on pieces of papers we threw at the bonfire while saying it to all aloud what we wanted to manifest. The night ended delightfully thereafter. Heading back home, Chantelle spoke of all the details of our evening. As I said my goodbyes and headed to my place while pondering on the chosen card. If were as if I couldn’t get off my mind the visual of the great white barn owl relaying its message to me. All I hoped for was the best. The next day, I drove to Tadd’s place. He had been waiting for me with a home cooked gourmet meal of filet mignon and wine. The rest of the evening we enjoyed cozying up and love making. Tadd wanted me to sleep over, but I had decided to head back home. The road was as pitch black as the mouth of a wolf. As I’m driving all I could see was up to the length of the headlights. When suddenly, from distance ahead, I see in the middle of the road a white barn owl just staring straight at me. As my vehicle approached closer, he flew off. I was startled and didn’t know where this barn owl came from since it seemed very much uncommon. Then rushing through my mind and cold chills through my body, came the message “change of destiny”. I couldn’t believe that great white barn owl identical to the owl on the destiny card had shown up right before my eyes. And now, what did that mean for me? What would change? In my mind, I again thought of all the amazing things that could happen between Tadd and me. I began to fantasize about how we would move together and travel the world. The following week, as in a blink of an eye, everything took a complete turn. That Sunday morning, Tadd told me how much he regretted how things had ended up with his ex. I wanted to be considerate of him and not really understanding where this was conversation was stemming from, I answered “maybe u should call your ex and apologize.” Now why would those words ever come out from my mouth, I thought? All I knew was that I personally didn’t want unresolved emotions lingering in my life, but why suggest anything even close to that to the man I was in love with? The following day we were supposed to meet up and make French toast. I went thrillingly to buy some more ingredients needed and headed off to his place. I sent him a message I was on my way, but I didn’t get any reply. There was something off. This is unusual for Tadd not to reply right away, I thought maybe he’s showering. When I finally arrived, to my complete surprise Tadd was not home. Nor was he answering his phone. I left him several messages to no avail. Then the calls went directly to voice message. I felt incredibly sad and worried something may have happened as this was unlike him. Later that evening, I decided to pass again by his place and make sure everything was ok. He greeted me saying “you’ve come uninvited.” He was making martinis and was buzzed. I joined in not minding much to what he had just said and knowing he was ok. We drank and listened to loud music until we passed out. The unusual part was that we did not have any sex. In the morning I decided to initiate sex, but he wasn’t engaging and finally gave in but for the first time the act became mechanical. He swiftly got up, showered, and got ready to go. He was not conversing and before I knew it Tadd was already in his car to leave. I rushed outside wondering why he hadn’t given me the usual goodbye kiss. Tadd was unapologetic and distant. I began feeling anxious and confused. Still yet, I wished him a good day. As I went back into the house, tears flooded my cheeks. I knew something was not right! Simultaneously feeling hurt and angry, I left the house to go to work troubled all day. I decided to give him some space and didn’t call him the rest of the day. I kept checking my cell for messages from him, but none were received. The next day, I attempted to call yet no response. My anxiety skyrocketing, I decided after work to head over to his place. Curious about why wouldn’t he answer back, wanting an explanation, I decided to go. The house lights, TV, and music were on. Amid the shadows, I saw another woman. I parked the car on the other side of the street. My heart was racing. Thoughts were rushing through. Should I go in and make a scene. Should I leave and let it be. No, he can’t get away with this. I need to set my boundaries. He won’t make a fool of me. I will let him know I know of his shadiness and not being bold enough to tell me the truth. How dare him! And there it was the change of destiny card had come to pass. This was not how I had envisioned it, yet I had been warned. Tadd had returned to his ex. My heart was crushed. I wanted to fight and shout and defend my place. Instead, I hid my emotions and pretended like I was on my way to see him by sending him a text. I boldly knocked at his door. No one answered, all the lights and music had gone off before me. I wanted to confront him! I realized I was being ridiculous to continue to pursue that which not pursued me. I wanted to insult him in rage or at least have him see the pain in my eyes of how hurt I was. I knocked again. I saw his vehicle in the garage and just wanted to kick it enough so he would open the door. I knew they were both inside I literally had been there the whole time from when I texted him and saw how everything went dark. There was something else I knew, and it was that I didn’t want to hold inside any negative emotions. I knew it would serve me nothing, so I left in the mailbox slot at the door an essential oil he had told me to get him. I did not want to keep something meant for him. I returned to my car destroyed. I was broken. My whole dreams were shattered. I couldn’t believe how fast and swift things had been taken away from me. But then again it never did belong to me…or did it? I thought about the destiny card. I hated to have chosen that particular card. I wondered if I hadn’t picked a card at all that night if the relationship would have continued just as wonderful as it once was. I blamed the destiny card furiously! I was bitter, ashamed, disappointed and rejected, fearful, angry, were some of all the emotions I was feeling in a cluster. I remembered the retreat and of all the wonderful process of letting go of what did not serve me and of how I needed to now move forward and trust the Universe that something better would come my way. I had to take the selfless path of giving up that which I loved to another person. And with that thought, a deep sigh, and tears running through my cheeks, I decided to sing to him the song I had learned that solemn evening at the event … “May the long time Sun shine upon you, all love surround you, guide your way on ….” and finally let destiny take its place.

literature
1

About the Creator

Rubbi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.