Humans logo

Destination Wedding Vicious Movie Review!

2 Nihilist Walk Into A Wedding...

By Mighty ViciousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Can Utter disgust and Hate, lead to love?

After having my heart ripped out earlier this week by Marriage Story I went back to a film about connection and relationship that propositions a different question. Can hate lead to love?

Can Hate lead to LOVE? Destination Wedding directed by Victor Levin and Starring Keanu Reeves and Winona Ryder, is a fantastic black comedy centered around whether or not love can exist between a nihilist and a mentally disheveled self-saboteur who meet by chance on the way to a destination wedding. Both characters are very unpleasant but don't be confused by any personal insinuation made by this film’s title. This film is less about love and more about the connection that can be found by individuals in the most ridiculous of circumstances. These two introverts slash borderline nihilist, are literally left to hammer down each other’s walls due to their proximity and the age-old adage of misery loving company.

I watched this movie randomly one night on Amazon Prime about 7 months ago, first by myself, and then with my in laws. It is beyond hilarious. The dialogue is incredible and delivered with a break neck pace that reminds me of old school bogey films, and it fits!

You will definitely be stuck wondering why more people aren't talking about this movie. I have since re-watched this movie 2 more times and each time I have been more delighted.

The film is brutally honest about the human condition and the neurotic mess that life can create through a series of unfortunate events. But it's also very much aware of how someone can be left with a self-fulfilling delusion of what life is and who people are, Therefore, closing themselves off from interaction and intimacy.

That is beyond interesting to me and this movie does not let up, from beginning to end. Life is strange and these two are stranger, but maybe Love can be born from Hate.

I give Destination wedding an A though I had to literally fight the S+ off this review multiple times. I think IMDb and Rotten Tomatoes might've poisoned me. Ugh!

Thank you again for joining me on this wonderful journey through the rungs of social media and YouTube. Hopefully you all are enjoying this as much as me. Don’t forget to like, subscribe, hit the bell, and use the 3 seashells. We've only just begun!

Film Information Via IMDb:

Stars:

Stars: Winona Ryder, Keanu Reeves, DJ Dallenbach

Taglines: You are cordially invited to fall in love, til death do you part.

Release date: August 2nd 2018

Director: Victor Levin

Genre: Comedy, Drama, Romance

Worldwide Gross: $2,182,965

Runtime: 87 minutes

Filming Location: San Luis Obispo, California, USA

Trivia

This is the fourth film featuring Winona Ryder and Keanu Reeves, after Bram Stoker's Dracula (1992), A Scanner Darkly (2006) and The Private Lives of Pippa Lee (2009). In Dracula and A Scanner Darkly they also played a couple, but they didn't have any scenes together in The Private Lives of Pippa Lee.

Goofs

Around the 1:20:21 mark, when the two are debating in bed, Frank finishes his glass of wine. A minute later this glass is filled again in a wide shot as Frank reaches for it and takes a sip.

Quotes:

Lindsay: You know, I'm not wearing anything under my pajamas.

Frank: Why would you? They're so alluring.

Lindsay: I didn't think I was going to be intimate this weekend... or any weekend.

Frank: Superman couldn't see through those pajamas. People have jousted in lighter clothing.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Lindsay: Howard left your mother?

Frank: 'Left' is not a strong enough word. Fled.

Lindsay: For an older woman?

Frank: He would have left for an otter. Anyway, leaving is leaving.

Lindsay: No, no. Leaving for a younger woman is awful, it's horrible. But leaving for an older woman is perverse.

movie review
1

About the Creator

Mighty Vicious

In the process of redesigning my website, TheStrongestThereis.com, so I'm venturing out into social media to spread my creations. I work out of Richmond, VA, and am an aspiring filmmaker.

I LOVE TO DEBATE! EVERYTHING!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.