Humans logo

Correspondence: A love story through E-mails

[ONE] August 29th, 2017 - Her to Him

By KayPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1
Correspondence: A love story through E-mails
Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

To: [email protected]

Subject: Greetings from Home

Hi,

I hope you landed okay and had a decent flight. I know you hate flying... and yet you decided to take a 16-hour flight to the other side of the world. Your logic baffles me.

Anyway, I haven't heard from you in a few days. I've played through all the worst-case scenarios. However, the news did not report any plane crashes and your facebook profile photo has been updated. Not that I'm stalking you or anything. Nice haircut by the way.

Your mom came to the restaurant today. She's been trying to get a hold of you, and was disappointed to hear that I also haven't heard from you.

So are you okay? I'm worried. Let me know...

It finally registered in my brain today that you're gone. Something funny happened at the restaurant and I actually called your name. Knox had to remind me that you were in Japan.

So that happened.

On a happier note, I got my school schedule today. I took your advice and crammed all my classes into 2 and a half days. Lucky me I get a Monday off, also Wednesday and the latter half of Friday.

Josie is now doing scheduling at the restaurant and is excited for a part-timer to claim those weekend shifts. Knox also said I can bartend with him Friday nights. Yes, you may congratulate me on my successful completion of the bartending course. The extra tips will help with my student loans. I'm hoping that I'll get as good as you are and eventually solo on Sunday nights.

Also, I met your brother finally. Contrary to what you said to expect, he showed up on time to collect the remaining items from your apartment. He was nice.

I'm mad at you. You said it was a small fire. Half of your bed was scorched. So medium-ish fire. My dad broke the rest of it down and disposed of it. I was able to clean the damage on the floor and the minor smoke damage on the wall. Nothing some polish and new paint couldn't fix.

I was also able to sweet talk your landlord into giving you back your security deposit. You're welcome. I've wired you the funds. Again, you're welcome.

On another note, I saw Meg last night. I hadn't seen her since she crashed your going away party. I can tell you, she was not happy to see me at all. Your ex really hates me. She only looked at me once and it was with such an icy malice the room got cold.

I was out for dinner at the time (not at our restaurant) and she appeared to be on a date. So please join me in praying for that poor sap's soul. Beneath that pretty facade lies a crazy man-eater. Be grateful that you are off her radar.

Though I have to give her some credit. She was quite civil actually. By "civil" I mean that she completely ignored me, pretended I didn't exist even as she passed by to get to the restroom.

Before you ask, no I did not make a scene. I played along and ignored her as well. I didn't even return the cut eyes she glared at me in passing. You would be proud.

I wish my life was more interesting. I don't have that many things to catch you up on. I suppose with you overseas I'm going to have to put an ad out for a new buddy. Or make new friends? I was thinking of maybe joining a club this year. Or pick up another part-time job.

E-mailing you is hard. I am struggling to fill the page...

I am compelled to confess that I've had the number of your school this entire time. I could have called and asked for you, but I chickened out.

The real reason I'm writing to you is that I want to talk to you but I don't know if I can.

We never got to talk about the night you left, and what happened between us...

When I woke up you were already gone. You didn't even leave a note. I was mad at you.

I still am.

To be honest, I'm not sure that I am ready to talk about it.

But we should.

-A

P.S: Please call your mother.

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Kay

Entrepreneurial nerd with a bunny just trying to reach my goals and live my best life =)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.