Humans logo

Changes I've Had to Make Because of Annie - 2Baba

2Baba opens up about fame and marriage

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian icon 2Baba has been pretty quiet for a minute now. While he's still actively on the scene, we haven't heard much from the singer in recent times. So the good people over at The Sun newspapers went to catch up with the singer, and during their interview, 2Baba opened up about some of the struggles he's been facing with celebrity, and also opened up about how his marriage to Annie. Here's what 2Baba had to say about both topics.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

During the interview, 2Baba was asked "As a big time celebrity, do you feel lonely sometimes despite your numerous fans? What are the challenges you face as a celebrity?" He said:

2BABA: Yes. Most times you don’t have the ability to know somebody that genuinely cares about you, apart from the people you knew right from the time you started, when there was nothing. As a celebrity, most of the people I meet are those who I know through my celebrity status. So, you have to be careful because you don’t know the motive people have against you.

Sometimes people see me and make nasty comments. I would just turn around and ignore it. Many times, people forget that being a celebrity doesn’t mean you are not human. Sometimes, I might just be in a bad mood and I’m probably at an airport. I might just want to walk straight into my flight quietly and people would be calling me for photograph. And, if I fail to do that and keep walking, they will tell me to go to hell; after all, my music is not good enough. On many occasions, some (Area) boys would ask,‘Tubaba, is there anything for the boys’ and if I give them N1,000, they’ll say ‘Tubaba, you are bigger than that’. There are also other funny comments that I try to ignore.

Speaking on the topic of marriage, 2Baba was asked: "Was it a difficult choice for you to settle down with woman?" He said:

2BABA: To be frank, I was thinking that I would not marry. There was a time I said that I was not going to get married; but once the thought came, I decided to marry the woman who has been there for me when I had nothing.

"How do you feel as a married man, and what has changed in your life because of marriage to Annie?"

2BABA: Oh, I am happier than before. At least, I am more responsible now. When I was a bachelor, I could go out and come back anytime I wanted. But now, I cannot do that again. Now, once I am done with the day’s work, I have to go back home to my wife and kids. And then, the way I party before has reduced because I am married and getting older as well. Now as a married man, I have a sense of responsibility. I now know that I need to consult my wife before doing certain things, unlike before.

What do you think about what 2Baba said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.