Humans logo

Changed My Mind about Harry & Meghan

You might disagree, but these are my opinions

By Nicole CPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Changed My Mind about Harry & Meghan
Photo by King's Church International on Unsplash

I didn’t watch their wedding in real time when it happened. I was feeling angsty, I couldn’t be bothered with royals. The more that everyone was hyping this wedding up, the more I felt like, “Whatever” and didn’t want to pay it any further attention.

Then there was occasional gossip about them, I really wasn’t a keen royal watcher at all. So I don’t know at what point in time, my mind had been made up, “Oh she seems a bit fake, she’s an actress,” and I rode that trajectory of opinion for a while. Perhaps particularly because of Covid, the global economy, the appearance and “attacks” that pointed out “They’re living in a million dollar mansion!” Etc etc etc…

I rode that wave of opinion all up until yesterday. Even in the first three episodes of their recent Netflix docuseries, I was on the fence. I felt like, “I don’t know yet, I am still not sure how I feel about them,” but I had a feeling that by the second half, I would probably start seeing things their way, and since watching episodes four, five and six - yes, I sure have come over to the “other side…!”

It was fun to make fun of Meghan. It was fun to point out her hypocrisies. But when I saw the real tweets that her security were being briefed on, that’s when it dawned on me how real the threats towards her really were.

I don’t remember those tweets being covered in the media, or perhaps I wasn’t paying attention.

Now I see the lens from which their Truths arose. Now I support them and don’t blame them for their actions and how they made these decisions for their lives, for their children.

I don’t care what the propaganda is trying to tell me about them being “traitors” or anything like that.

And just because I like Harry and Meghan, doesn’t mean that I dislike Charles, William or Catherine. (Or even, Camilla!)

I basically have no opinion on the senior royals. If Australia were to have a referendum today and asked each citizen to vote on whether or not we should become independent, I would vote, “Yes,” for sure. Knowing that the “Yes” vote wouldn’t even make a difference. The overwhelming majority of the current population remain Royalists and Monarchists who simply would never.

I think it is very refreshing, what Harry and Meghan have now done. I think it is healthy. And Tyler Perry is the sweetest, kindest of Souls.

We could all strive to be more like Tyler Perry.

I love Serena Williams. I love Beyonce.

These are good people, and Harry and Meghan are living a better life in the US.

All this drama about the media... it's not surprising, and they continue to prove their point. The same talking heads that pop up on the same channels spinning whatever negativity they can conjure.

If William is Charles' son and Harry is Diana's son, then Meghan is, for sure and without a doubt, Diana's daughter-in-law.

She might not be Camilla's... (That's Catherine!)

It doesn't matter if they are estranged from their family. Those on Team Meghan/Sussex Squad we are here, once we get it.

I'm not going to "educate" the haters, all I can say is that I've officially converted. I'm not about that doubt, I'm not about that skepticism.

I don't even care as much about my "taxpayer money" that previously went towards them in any small way.

Meghan and Harry don't really owe us anything for existing, and especially not since they've moved to America. It's okay that they made $100 million in a Netflix deal - in this economy?! Have you seen the houses on Buying Beverly Hills?! It's really not that much money, only 1/10th of Kylie Jenner's earnings.

It's okay if you completely disagree. But now I get it from their perspective, and perhaps it's just a feeling.

I recently said during my Tik Tok lives, perhaps they don't have to be banned from the Coronation but rather could Zoom in - wouldn't that be a happy compromise? Since it is also Archie's birthday... how nice would it be to see a family Zoom with Archie and his birthday cake?

celebrities

About the Creator

Nicole C

Writing sporadically... I tried some challenges but never won anything. Sometimes my poetry helps me process whatever has been going on... sometimes it is pure fiction. Sometimes I like to write about pop culture and astrology.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Nicole CWritten by Nicole C

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.