Humans logo

Broken

Chapter 3

By Molly (Molls) GilesPublished 3 years ago 21 min read
Like

Jax

I’m 25 years old and I’m still not going to get over the fact my Dad is letting me run the arms deal with the American’s. There’s something euphoric about being the son of the Irish Mafia leader; maybe because all of this will be mine one day.

I finished filling out the log books whilst thinking about how much I hated England and these shitty hideouts Dad has. I longed for the Irish air in my lungs again. All of a sudden I heard a commotion outside. I grabbed my gun and slowly headed over to the door. It was just me here. Connor, Ava, Aiden and a couple of the other members had gone to the store. Shit, I knew I should have got one of them to stay with me. Dad is going to kill me.

I slowly opened the door pointing my gun and looking down the corridor. The noise was coming from a few doors down. I made my way down, looking back over my shoulder to make sure I wasn’t being followed. I stopped at the door where all the noise was coming from. It sounded like a girl in pain. It was Ava. Shit. I don’t know who the fuck knew us and where we were staying but they aren’t killing Ava. As her cries grew louder I took a deep breath and bashed the door open.

“What the fuck, Jax!” Connor shouted at me, trying to pull his trousers up and cover Ava from my sight. I lowered my gun.

“Are you two serious right now?! I thought someone was hurting Ava!” I shouted at them.

“Sorry Jax.” Ava grinned at me. “Do you mind turning round?”

I only just realised once my anger had passed that Ava was still completely naked.

“Sorry. Get your arses outside once your decent, and make yourself useful Connor; bring me a beer.” I said storming off down the corridor and opening the back door. I checked my gun was still in my back pocket before lighting a cigarette. After a few minutes, Ava came outside.

“Hey.” She said timidly. “Sorry about that Jax, I didn’t mean to worry you.”

“It’s okay.” I said chucking my cigarettes at her. She took one and lit it. Ava looked so sweet and innocent on the outside but she was one of our best spies at getting information from enemy gangs.

“You’ll find someone someday, Jax.” Ava said. I laughed.

“I think I’m alright for the time being.” I have no idea how some of these guys manage to maintain relationships, let alone fuck each other. I mean come on, we’re family.

Connor came out next, tossing me my beer. I stubbed my cigarette out and squeezed the cap off the bottle.

“So, how long has this been going on?” I said pointing at the two of them.

“Not long, a few weeks maybe.” Connor said.

“Does anyone else know?” I asked.

“We think Aiden might, but that’s it.” Ava said inhaling the cigarette between her fingers.

“Okay, well, do yourselves a favour and maybe don’t let Vinny find out. Not until I’ve told him I managed to close this arms deal with the American’s anyway. He’s been on about it for weeks.” I said taking a swig of beer.

“Still can’t believe your old man let you have that one, Jax. You’re stepping up.” Connor said.

I nodded as we heard a car pull into the driveway out the front.

“He’s back.” I said handing my beer to Ava. “I’ll see you guys later.”

I made my way in through the back door to find Dad and Spencer standing in the kitchen muttering to each other. Spencer looked in my direction causing Dad to turn round.

“Jax.” He said clapping me on the shoulder. “How did it go?”

“Spencer.” I said nodding in his direction. Spencer was never a man of many words except around Vinny. “It went well. They want the same shipment every two weeks if we can keep up with our supplier.”

“There’s my boy.” He said smiling and gripping my shoulder. “I’ve got another job for you Jax.” I felt the pride radiate from me as he spoke.

“Brilliant. What is it?”

“I need you to do some background checks on someone. Watch them for 24 hours. Get a feel for them, and then report back to me.”

“Okay sure. Who’s the target?” Dad paused.

“Marley Alden.” My eyes widened.

“Alden? As in Robert Alden?”

“Yes.”

“I didn’t even know he had a son.” I said my eyes narrowing.

“He doesn’t. It’s his daughter.”

Daughter... that was unexpected.

“Oh. Okay, sure. Just leave me the address and I’ll see what I can find out.”

“Thank you Jax. Take the night off. You deserve it.” Dad smacked me on the back and disappeared into the office with Spencer. I’d never tracked a female before, least of all someone from the Alden family. I wonder why Dad wanted her looked over. Was she joining us? Was Robert coming back? I went back outside to find Ava and Connor still there, smoking.

“You okay Jax?” Connor asked me. “You look a little taken back.”

“You’re not going to believe this.” I said looking at both of them. “Vinny’s given me another job, tracking someone for 24 hours.”

“What’s so special about that?” Ava asked.

“He wants me to track Marley Alden.”

“Shit. You’re kidding right?” Connor said shocked.

“I shit you not.”

“Wow, more meat.” Ava grinned, winking at Connor. He didn’t look impressed.

“Marley’s a girl.” I said smirking.

“What? I thought that was a boy’s name?” Ava said confused.

“Not anymore apparently.”

“Well, things might start to get even more interesting than usual around here.” Connor said, drinking the last of his beer. I couldn’t help feeling he was onto something.

I sat in my Defender parked down the road to Marley’s house, waiting for her to come out. As I lit a cigarette, I couldn’t help taking in how nice her house was. Definitely looked like something an Alden would live in. Still, it’s 6:30am and I haven’t really slept due to the girl from last night, whose name I’ve already forgotten and will probably never remember. So, who am I to start admiring fucking houses at this time?

Suddenly the front door opened, startling me and a girl came out. I couldn’t really see her properly because of the distance between us but shit... From what I could see, she looked frail. She has leggings and an oversized jumper on, her hair still looks damp. I wasn’t expecting the Alden girl to look so vacant, so unwell. She got in her car and I gave it a few seconds before starting up the Defender and following her down the road. I wasn’t driving long before I saw her turn into a residential estate that looked somewhere elderly people would live. She parked outside a small bungalow and sat there for a few moments. I couldn’t see properly but from what I could see in her rear view mirror she was holding her head in her hands.

Was she crying?

I don’t know why but I felt this ache inside me to get out the car and go and wrap my arms around her. I didn’t want her to be sad.

“Jesus, Jax. Pull yourself together.” I said to myself shaking my head, hands still on the steering wheel.

She got out of the car and made her way up to the front door before unlocking it and letting herself in. I waited a few minutes before getting out and walking up towards the bungalow. I figured walking past it would be a safer option than going up and peering in.

As I walked past, I could see into the living room. There was an elderly man sat in his chair beaming up at the girl smiling and chatting away to him. This girl did not have the same expression and body language as the one who left the house this morning.

She’s pretending.

I walked back to the Defender, took out a pack and lit another cigarette before making my way back to the bungalow and walking up the side passage. As I got round the back, I looked in the first window to see any signs of Marley. There wasn’t any. I took my chance and made my way to the bottom of the garden where I could disguise myself in the over grown hedgerow. I timed it right because no sooner had I hidden myself, Marley had come out the back door with the elderly man. She helped him sit on the garden bench and made sure he was comfortable before starting to top up his bird feeder.

I can’t get over the fact that through the smiles and false pretences, this girl is really fucking broken inside and I want to know why.

Marley

“Yes, I’ll see you on Monday Thomas ... No, I won’t forget the books, don’t worry.” I closed the door making sure I locked it on my way out. I was thankful that my boss had only asked me to cover one of the other carer’s call today. Thomas is lovely to look after, but attempting to be that happy is draining all the little energy I have left.

I started walking towards my car and my phone started ringing. Olivia!

“Libby!”

“Don’t worry, be happy, cause every little thing is gunna be alright.”

“If I had a pound for every time you sang that I wouldn’t have to work in care anymore, Olivia.” I laughed down the phone. “What’s up?”

“Well first of, HAPPY BIRTHDAY! And secondly, can you please hurry up and get home so you can let me in. I’m cold in my car.”

“Wait, you’re here? It’s 9am! I thought you were still in Nottingham!”

“Marley, when have I ever in the last 21 years missed your birthday?” Olivia said.

“I can’t believe you’re here.” A shred of happiness filled the emptiness inside me. “I’ll be home in 20 minutes.”

“Brilliant, hurry your cute butt up.”

“I’m guessing Robert isn’t there?” I muttered.

“If you mean your DAD, no he’s not.”

“Okay, I’m leaving now I won’t be too long.”

“Hope you’ve got your dancing shoes because we are going drinking tonight!” Olivia squealed down the phone. As I reached my car and unlocked it, I noticed a Defender parked up the road. I could have sworn that was the same car behind me this morning. A small coincidence, so I brushed it off.

“Liv, last time we went out drinking you were sick in your own hair and asking me if I had met Harry Potter.”

“Harry Potter is amazing. I will ask everyone if they’ve met him.”

“You know he’s a fictional character, right?”

“I don’t care, he’s cool. He can do spells and shit.”

“Okay.” I smiled to myself. “Where are we going? Please don’t take me to Vodka Revolution.”

“Oh honey, we aren’t going there. I’m taking you to Republic.”

“Republic?! Will we get in there?” I said shocked.

“Of course we will. Now hurry up, I’m freezing my bum off.” With that, she hung up.

Jax

So, it’s her birthday today and she’s going out. This is a perfect set up. I can bring Aiden with me to keep her friend occupied. I watched as she drove off before getting my phone out and dialling Vinny.

“Jax, what have you got for me?”

“She looks pretty weak Dad. I get the feeling something bad is going with her, I just don’t know what. She doesn’t really look like she’d be any use to us.” The line stayed quiet, so I took my chance and asked some questions.

“I was outside her house since 6am and even Robert’s car wasn’t there. Where is he? Is he part of this?” I asked, not even knowing what ‘this’ is.

“Don’t concern yourself with that son, just focus on Marley. She’s the one we want.” Vinny said sternly.

“Okay, well I’ve watched her all morning and I think I have a plan.”

Marley

This must have been the longest I’d ever looked at myself in a mirror before. The girl looking back at me looked nothing like the girl I’d been seeing for the past three years.

“Now do you see what a bit of make-up and hairspray can do for you?” Olivia smirked at me with an eyebrow raised. I stuck my tongue out at her before looking back to the mirror.

My thick brown hair fell in waves over my shoulders, effortlessly, like we hadn’t spent half an hour trying to tame it. I was glad I’d taken the time with my eye makeup too, using dark green liner to frame my eyes instead of black. I couldn’t help but notice my eyes became more emerald and flecked with gold from doing this, just like Mum used to look. I’d give anything to see her now.

“You look like your mum, Marley.” Olivia smiled. I smiled back.

Christ, we need to leave before Robert comes home. He doesn’t need to see a reminder of Mum and I don’t want to think about what he’ll do to me when we’re next alone. I pulled on my jacket over the little black dress Olivia had lent me.

“Come on, let’s get out of here.”

“Marley, it’s not even 8 o clock yet.” Olivia exclaimed, still trying to stick her lashes on.

“I know but I just want to leave before Robert comes back.” The words left my mouth before I’d even realised that I’d said them. Olivia turned to face me.

“What’s going on Marley?”

I sighed and sat on the edge of the bed. “Nothing.”

“Come on Marley, I know things have been tough between you and your Dad since your Mum died, but lately you act as if you’re either avoiding him or you’re afraid of him. Maybe both if I’m honest with you.”

I looked at Olivia. Could I really tell her everything? All the cigarette burns, all the bruises? How I never sleep and when I do all I can see is Mum’s face and Dad screaming at me that it was my entire fault? The only reason I agreed to wear her dress is because it has long sleeves that cover my arms and its knee length.

“Things are just a bit tense lately between us... it was the anniversary of Mum’s death not long ago. I just don’t want to get in his way, that’s all.” I could tell she wasn’t buying any of it, but thankfully she let it go.

“Okay, if you say so.” Olivia turned back around and finished her eye lashes. “So, who’s going to get hit on first tonight?” Just like that, she was back to being care free and changing the mood; it’s why she’s my best friend.

We stumbled up the queue to get into Republic, still giggling by the time the bouncers checked our ID’s, winked at us and let us in. Olivia had just taken me to a bar that served shots in test tubes and smoke coming out of some of the cocktails.

“This is some Harry Potter Hogwarts kind of shit!” Olivia collapsed about laughing as the barman chuckled at her. It’s true it was!

Back to the present, and Republic was amazing as you walked in. There were fairy lights hung over massive mirrors and a circled bar in the middle of the room which lead of to three different doorways to different dance rooms. We headed straight to the bar in the middle of the room as First Time by M22 played and ordered some drinks. As Olivia chatted to the barman, I couldn’t help but close my eyes and relish in this feeling, just for a second. It was probably just the alcohol coursing through my veins but I actually felt happy; and happy wasn’t an emotion I was used to lately.

My eyes fluttered open as Olivia nudging me brought me back to the present.

“You okay you lightweight?” She laughed.

“I’m more than alright.” I grinned back at her, sipping my drink. I had no idea what it was but it tasted good. The barman placed two shots in front of us before winking at Olivia.

“These are on the house.” He said and walked off. Olivia giggled.

“How in the hell do you manage to do that?” I asked her.

“It’s a natural talent.” She laughed. “Come on, on 3.”

I rolled my eyes and picked up my shot glass.

“1... 2... 3!” Olivia shouted. I downed the shot and felt the burn of vodka running down the back of my throat. Naturally I started coughing, I could hear Olivia laughing.

I gained my composure and opened my eyes, only to look across the bar and find two looking back at me. I did a double take and casually looked behind me to see if he was looking at someone else, but as I turned back, he was still looking at me, but this time he was smiling. Clearly, I didn’t look behind me as casual as I thought I did.

I smiled back, but not before Olivia grabbed my arm and started pulling me away.

“Come on. I need to dance!”

Twenty minutes later and I honestly thought my feet were going to fall off. I don’t know how Olivia has the energy to keep going. All the dancing had made the alcohol rush to my head. I needed a breather.

“Liv, I’m going to get some fresh air.” I shouted over the music.

“Okay!” She shouted, still moving her body to the rhythm.

I made my way off the dance floor and over towards the exit to the smoking area, only to collide with another person. I stumbled back trying to regain my balance whilst realising the front of my dress was now completely soaked.

“I’m so sorry. Are you okay?”

“It’s fine, don’t worry.”

“It’s completely my fault; I wasn’t looking where I was going. Are you sure you’re alright?”

As I tried to wipe away the dampness on my dress, I looked up to answer.

“Yes, for the second time, I’m –” My breath caught in my throat a little as I realised it was the guy who had been looking at me from across the bar.

“I’m fine.” I managed to mumble. Our eyes locked as he smiled at me and the only thing running through my mind at that moment was how attractive this guy was and how much I wanted to kiss him. I’d never seen anybody with such amber eyes and the way his curled hair was tied back just made my hand itch to run my fingers through it. I realised I was probably acting like a total nut job staring at this guy right now. It seems it had the same thought because he chuckled before speaking to me.

“Hi.” He said in an Irish accent smiling.

I smiled back. “Hi.”

He signalled to my dress. “I’m really sorry about that, can I buy you a drink?”

I honestly did not have to think twice before answering. “Sure. I’m Marley by the way.”

His smile radiated across my entire body. “Nice to meet you Marley, I’m Jax.”

I must have been standing at the bar with Jax for over half an hour now just chatting effortlessly. He told me he was 25 and had worked for his Dad’s business in trading since he left school, and how he was lucky enough to be able to travel the world because of it. I was so jealous.

“You’re incredibly lucky, Jax. I’d love to be able to do that.”

“Then why don’t you?” Jax asked me whilst taking a swig of his beer.

I laughed. “I’m not really in the best position to be going anywhere.”

“Why’s that?”

“Well, I work as a carer, which doesn’t pay an awful lot, and I pretty much do everything for my Dad since my Mum died.” Jax put his beer down and gazed at me. Why the fuck did I just tell him all of that.

“Sorry, I don’t know where that all just came from. I don’t even know you.” I looked down at my feet, mentally kicking myself, when I felt a rough hand tuck a loose strand of hair behind my ear. It gave me goose bumps.

“You don’t have to apologise Marley, life can be shit I get that.” Jax smiled at me.

“Thanks.” I mumbled.

“Do you wanna get out of here? There’s a really decent coffee shop down the street.”

“I’d love to.” Coffee sounds like heaven right now.

“Wait, I forgot about Olivia.” My eyes scanned the club trying to find her.

“Is she the one with curly hair dancing with Aiden?”

“Who’s Aiden?” Jax pointed at Olivia grinding up on fair haired guy.

I rolled my eyes. “Yes, that’s Olivia. She’ll be fine, we can go.”

It’s 2am and I’m walking down the road with a guy I’ve never met before, talking about life and the universe and I cannot for the life of me remember being this happy. I can’t help but think this is the type of life Mum would have wanted me to have; a normal life going out and meeting new people.

“You okay green eyes?” Jax asked smirking at me.

“I’ve never been better.” I smiled at him.

We walked further up the road until we reached the entrance to a small alleyway. I was just about to ask Jax what coffee shop he was taking me to, when he reached for my hand and turned me to face him.

Christ, he was so beautiful. I wanted to untie his chestnut hair and wind my fingers through it. He reached up to my face and placed a hand on my cheek. If either of us leant any closer our lips would be touching.

“You’re so beautiful, Marley.” He muttered softly, his cool breath hitting my lips. My heart pretty much stopped.

“Thank you.” I stuttered, completely in awe of this man in front of me.

“You’re really don't seem like most girls.” I blushed as he looked into my eyes. He held my gaze for a second before stepping back. “That’s why I’m sorry for this.”

Before I could ask what he was talking about, I felt a sharp pain in my neck. Someone caught me as my legs began to buckle and I watched Jax dialling someone on his phone.

“Don’t worry, this is just routine. You’re going to be okay Marley.” A deep Irish voice said from above me. I tried to look up to see the person holding me, but my eyes failed me. I was so tired. Instead I let the darkness take me.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Molly (Molls) Giles

27 year old from England whose always had a passion for creative writing and writing about topics that hit close to home to me.

Welcome to my wonderful, crazy world....

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.