Humans logo

Broken Mirror

Cracked

By WilliamPublished 12 months ago 2 min read
Like

The broken mirror lay on the floor, its shards glinting in the sunlight. I stared at it, my heart pounding. I had broken it this morning, when I had lost my temper and thrown a vase at it. I knew that it was bad luck to break a mirror, but I didn't care. I just wanted to get rid of the reminder of my anger.

I swept up the broken glass and threw it away. Then I went to the bathroom and looked in the mirror. I saw a face that I didn't recognize. My eyes were bloodshot and my skin was pale. I looked tired and haggard.

I turned away from the mirror and sighed. I knew that I needed to change my life. I had been living in anger and bitterness for too long. It was time to let go of the past and start fresh.

I took a deep breath and opened the door to my bedroom. I walked down the stairs and into the kitchen. I made myself a cup of coffee and sat down at the table. I took a sip of my coffee and closed my eyes. I thought about all the things that I wanted to change in my life.

I wanted to be happier. I wanted to be more positive. I wanted to be more forgiving. I wanted to be more loving.

I knew that it wouldn't be easy. But I was determined to make a change. I was determined to break the cycle of anger and bitterness. I was determined to be a better person.

I finished my coffee and got up from the table. I went to the mirror and looked at myself. I saw the same face that I had seen earlier, but this time I saw something different. I saw hope.

I knew that it would take time, but I was confident that I could change. I was confident that I could break the mirror.

I smiled at myself in the mirror and said, "I'm going to be okay."

I turned away from the mirror and walked out of the kitchen. I was ready to start my new life.

The next few weeks were difficult. I had to learn how to deal with my anger and bitterness in a healthy way. I had to learn how to forgive myself and others. I had to learn how to be positive and hopeful.

It wasn't easy, but I kept at it. I knew that I was making progress. I was starting to feel happier and more positive. I was starting to feel like myself again.

One day, I was looking in the mirror when I saw something different. I saw the same face that I had always seen, but this time it was different. It was a face that was filled with hope and happiness. It was a face that was ready for a new beginning.

I smiled at myself in the mirror and said, "I did it."

I had broken the mirror. I had broken the cycle of anger and bitterness. I had started a new life.

I am still on my journey, but I am confident that I will continue to grow and change. I am confident that I will continue to be a better person.

I am no longer afraid of broken mirrors. I know that they are a symbol of hope and new beginnings.

literature
Like

About the Creator

William

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.