Humans logo

Black Magic

One little black notebook.

By Nicole HornPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

“I love to write, I just need a new pen that writes well and feels nice in my hand.”

“I would like to have a muffin.”

“I would like a nice, new, leather-bound journal with many pages.”

Henrietta Alfreda, age 25, year 1877.

That strange drifter was very considerate to give me this book. He must have noticed I love to write or I must have said something out loud and he heard. What is that inscription on the inside cover? This would be a good journal; nice, black, and small. I think I will write in every page. What…is…happening…how did this pen just appear right after I wrote that…out of thin air? It can’t be.

Muffin…okay, this is scary. Maybe I should find another journal.

---------------------------------------------------------------

“I hope papa gets the work he is looking for so we can have food this week.”

“I would like my own bicycle so I can ride about town.”

“I want a job in a great fancy house so I can live there, too.”

“Tracy lives in that fancy house I work at. I don’t know if I want to work here, she is dreadful. She and her new fiancé are going on a huge ship sailing from Southampton all the way across the Atlantic to New York City! She is such a hussy. I hope that ship sinks.”

Minnie, age 19, year 1912.

The power is too strong. I am throwing it in the ocean with Tracy.

-----------------------------------------------------------------

“I would love to meet a good man and marry him.”

“We will have a long, happy, and healthy life.”

“I would like $20,000 cash.”

Dorothy, age 25, year 1949.

I don’t need much in life. I enjoy the quiet things. A little cash would be nice, though.

----------------------------------------------------------------------

“I would like to have a job, like a waitress so I can get good tips and always have cash.”

“I need a good working car so I can get to my new job.”

“I would like to take college courses.”

“I want a nice condo for myself.”

“Coke needs to bring back the original formula.”

“Kurt will hit it big with his band.”

“I want my sister Barb to come home safe.”

“The guy who took Barb will get caught.”

Rhonda, age 25, year 1985.

I can’t believe this book was just lying in the street. Lucky I went to visit my grandma in Florida or who knows where it would have ended up. I can’t believe that guy took Barb and she still got home safe. We heard he killed like 17 guys over in California…some guy named Jeffery. I don’t know what I would have done without Barb or this book. She could have been a goner, I think.

----------------------------------------------------------

“Big Boobs.”

“Awesome 2,000 square foot house in Michigan that is well kept, needs no current repairs, and is paid off.”

“A metallic blue 2019 F150 (because 2020 was a disaster and 2021 is too new) with black features and 20” tires.”

“I can do whatever I want and get away with it every time.”

“The ability to sing beautifully so I don’t sound like a horse when I want to sing.”

“Popularity at work and lots of friends.”

“Amy Tran can die because she stole my boyfriend.”

“I hate people. We should have a plague that wipes some of us out.”

Samantha, age 23, year 2020.

This book is amazing. I don’t know what I would do without it. I wonder where this book even came from…like WHO made this book?! Thankfully there are so many pages for me to use for my whole life. What else do I want? Hmmm…ugh GOD I HATE PEOPLE. Plague sounds good to me!

March 5, 2021: Samantha passed last year from that horrible virus. This is mine now.

----------------------------------------------------

Book inscription on front cover:

“Whatsoever written, so it will be.”

This book belongs to “Henrietta Alfreda"

This book belongs to “Minnie Smith”

This book belongs to “Dorothy Jane”

This book belongs to “Rhonda Miggy”

This book belongs to “Samantha Thomas”

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Nicole Horn

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.