Humans logo

Beach Tour

Not Mine

By David F AndersonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Beach Tour

Becky and Lloyd were getting ready to celebrate their 10th wedding anniversary. Lloyd and his father owned a small hardware store in New Martinsville, WV. Lloyd's father was in the Coast Guard just out of high school and stationed in the Gulf of Mexico for two years and would always tell stories about how beautiful Costa Rica was. His father had a heart attack and passed away two years ago, so as a surprise for their wedding anniversary, Becky was planning a trip to Costa Rica. She was an emergency room nurse, and this was a trip they both needed. She had told Lloyd she was going to making it an adventure he would never forget.

Eddie and Nick both work for a large pharmaceutical company they were from New York. They were the top sales representatives in the last quarter, and the company gave them an all-expense-paid trip to Costa Rica. Eddie's wife's name was Sarah, and Nick's wife, Linda. They had all booked rooms at the Grand Hotel of Costa Rica. Becky and Lloyd were excited the hotel was a historical and architectural monument. The same hotel the Lloyds father had stayed at on the weekend passed when he was in Costa Rica.

Everybody landed at Tobias Bolanos International Airport and climbed aboard the hotel shuttle bus for the 25-minute ride to the hotel. Becky and Lloyd were blown away by this Oceanside community as they rode to the hotel through these small city streets. They met the other two couples on the ride, which turned out to be an adventure they will never forget. After they had all checked in, they ended up on the beach together for drinks.

Nick said to see Costa Rica's beaches' beauty to see it from the air. What do you say to a helicopter ride everybody in the morning on me? Becky and Lloyd were not sure about it first, then Becky said we would see more of Costa Rica that way for sure. Nick noted I would see everybody in the morning at 8:00. I am going to the room right now and book the helicopter. Nick said he had been here a couple of times to Costa Rica on business and had done these helicopter rides; they were a lot of fun.

Before they took off, Nick asked the helicopter pilot if he could swing over Cocos Islands. He said they had some great coral reefs and beaches; he just wanted to see them from the air. The pilot said they were protected islands, and you could not do that without permission from the government first. Nick leaned over, said something to Eddie, then lean back to the pilot and handed him four $100 bills. The pilot nodded his head took the money, and cured toward the Cocos islands.

The view from the helicopter was beautifully breathtaking, just as Nick had described it. The aircraft passed over the coral reefs and began to approach the island. Sarah said, look, Linda, look at all the beautiful birds. Just then, the birds start to take flight; the pilot had no time to react; he drove straight into the flock of birds as they left the island. The pilot struggled to keep control of the helicopter, and it splashed down just a few yards away from shore. Everybody was shaking up, but for the most part, OK. They all quickly climbed from the wreckage and swim to shore. Within minutes the helicopter sank entirely out of sight.

Everybody quickly pulled their cell phones out, but there was no service. The pilot said the coral reefs were a favorite spot for scuba divers; most likely, someone would be along shortly. Becky and Lloyd quickly gathered driftwood to make a fire so they all could dry out. Sarah began to look nauseous, and then she began to throw up. Eddie said, are you OK? Are you alright? Are you hurt? What is wrong. She said I am fine; I am fine, do not worry, I am fine. Eddie said, you are not fine something is wrong. Sarah says I am OK. I wanted to tell you tonight at dinner.

I went to see the doctor just before we left New York; he told me I am pregnant. What happened next no one in the world could have predicted. All the color left Eddie's face; he looked her straight in the eyes and said I want a divorce. Linda said, look, Eddie, do not get overexcited here; that still does not excuse your liability; trust me, I am an attorney. Eddie said when I graduated from college, I knew I did not want children. I had a Vasectomy; it is not my baby. Before Linda could respond, Nick turns and says, my God, I will be a father. Just then, the pilot screams, look, a ship on the horizon. As they board the Coast Guard rescue ship, Lloyd turns to Becky and says, you promised me an adventure of a lifetime that I would never forget, and you were right. I Love you.

Story by

David F Anderson 04/23/2021

travel
Like

About the Creator

David F Anderson

I have no writing experience and I have Dyslexia I am 61 years old.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.