Humans logo

Baker's Dozen: Podcasts I Loved in 2021!

A List of 13 Podcasts I Found and Enjoyed in 2021

By Megan Baker (Left Vocal in 2023)Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 11 min read
1
Baker's Dozen: Podcasts I Loved in 2021!
Photo by Jonathan Velasquez on Unsplash

With 2021 coming to a close, I thought it would be fun to create a Baker’s Dozen of the podcasts I found and listened to this year! Though I listened to more than just true crime, unexplained mysteries, and creepy tales of cryptids, I largely listened to these things, so the list is dominated by podcasts that cover these topics with little deviation. That said, let me introduce you to the 13 podcasts that defined my 2021!

By Rodion Kutsaev on Unsplash

1) Lights Out

Starting off this Baker’s Dozen 2021 Podcast list is the popular “Lights Out” podcast! I was introduced to this podcast through YouTube this year when I was looking for folks going over spooky creatures and criminal cases.

The host, Josh, is popular for his soothing voice that lulls listeners into comfort - even while talking about the creepy and the gruesome! In fact, he’s also started yet another podcast, titled, “Sleep”, to help folks fall asleep, though I honestly haven’t checked that one out myself. He and his wife, Kendall Rae (who I enjoy on YouTube for her own true crime episodes), also host the similarly-themed “Mile Higher” podcast, which is mentioned later on in the list as well!

A fellow Coloradan, Josh has fingers in many pies - including a CBD brand, “Higher Love Wellness”! Guy’s got it going on! Truly a joy to listen to, and he’s earned his podcast’s spot for keeping me invested in so many episodes this year!

By Mediamodifier on Unsplash

2) Solvable Mysteries Podcast

Hosted by Juras and Glenn, this podcast’s duo also largely cover true crime. I believe I found them on Spotify while looking for coverage on the case of Lisanne Froon and Kris Kremers (the lost girls of Panama from 2014). And boy, do they cover that case - they have many episodes covering that case with all its oddities, and they are pretty lengthy! That said, if you are unfamiliar with that case, I suggest watching their episodes on YouTube, as they present a lot of photo evidence and maps for that particular case.

Juras tends to lay out the cases and Glenn offers another perspective and small details, and they are an engaging duo I am happy to listen to. And I do - over and over again. Lisanne Froon and Kris Kremer’s case and the case of JonBenét Ramsey in particular draw my interest, and I love how these hosts present their podcast’s episodes!

By Katherine Kromberg on Unsplash

3) Morbid: A True Crime Podcast

Care to guess what type of content these lovely ladies cover? Well, it’s mostly true crime, with a sprinkling of the strange! Alaina and Ashleigh/Ash welcome all us weirdos to join them as they converse over the details of various crimes and tales of strangeness, and they have a whopping 250+ episodes under their belts! Fear not, though; some of those are shorter episodes titled, “Mini Morbid”. There’s a length of episode for everyone!

I believe I came across them on Spotify as I was looking for episodes covering the case of Elisa Lam, and their podcast is one of the first I started following! This charming duo takes listeners on an entertaining ride, so buckle up, weirdos!

By Roberto Valdivia on Unsplash

4) Mile Higher

Josh from our first podcast on this list makes his return - this time with his wife, Kendall! Even if they’ve covered the content separately on their own respective podcast/YouTube, it’s a welcome treat to hear and see them work together and see what each brings to the details of the crimes. It is difficult for me to recall which episode of theirs that I first found before I realized Josh hosted both podcasts, but clearly, I was hooked! They certainly make housework much more enjoyable!

By Kyrie kim on Unsplash

5) Crime Weekly

While I found Stephanie on YouTube initially (another list may be required!) I found this true crime podcast on Spotify relatively recently when looking for an episode on yet another Colorado case; the Watts Family case. Joined by Derrick, the two take their time to go through the evidence of the cases, where Derrick’s background as a detective really adds to these episodes. Many are multiple parts to cover a plethora of details and theories, and it has quickly risen to be one of my favorites! Yet another dynamite duo!

By Charles Deluvio on Unsplash

6) Last Podcast on the Left

Sarcastic, witty, and funny, Ben, Henry, and Marcus cover a little bit of all the dark, creepy, and criminal content! I first found them on Spotify looking for yet more episodes on the JonBenét Ramsey case, and my boyfriend was so sure I’d like them that he even suggested them, not knowing that I already enjoyed their content. This makes them the only podcast that my boyfriend also found and then suggested to me (I freaking love my man)!

By Alex Iby on Unsplash

7) Sinisterhood

Christie and Heather’s mixed bag of creepy, criminal content is a real laugh riot; they are an incredible podcast duo! They even have their own catchy theme for the podcast! I believe my first stumble upon them was looking for spooky tales of the Black Eyed Kids (BEK) phenomena. It’s never a dull show with these two!

By Michelle Ding on Unsplash

8) True Crime Couple

Kay generally tells John about the details of the cases in this New York duo. I found them on Spotify while looking for more episodes on the Keddie Cabin murders, and I find their banter to be rather fun. I enjoy listening to them while I am hanging laundry on my indoor drying rack and folding and putting away the dry laundry!

By Heike Amthor on Unsplash

9) The Cryptid Keeper

As the title suggests, this podcast focuses on the mysterious, frightening realm of cryptids and mythology! Addison and Alex walk listeners through tales of crazy, out-of-this-world creatures! They have a long list of episodes spanning the furry beast of Bray road to the horrific, shadowy form of the rake! So snuggle up with something comfortable, cause it gets spooky! It is likely that I found them on Spotify while looking for an episode on hellhounds!

By Hikmet Çınar on Unsplash

10) Disquietude

While I can’t readily find the hosts’ names (they never introduced themselves in what I have heard and a Google search didn't help me), I recently stumbled upon this podcast while searching for, yet again, episodes on the case of Lisanne Froon and Kris Kremers (seriously, so much weird shit in that case!). I haven’t explored too much of their content yet, as I really did only find them recently, but so far, I’ve enjoyed how they covered and discussed that case.

By Arūnas Naujokas on Unsplash

11) Wife of Crime

Jess reads details of crimes to her husband, Russ in this true crime podcast. This podcast is also fairly new to me - I found them while looking up the odd case that is that of Daniel Laplante. That said, from what I’ve heard, I rather like what they’re doing! I can’t wait to dig into more of their episodes as 2021 closes out and 2022 moves in!

By Wai Siew on Unsplash

12) Hashtag History

Leah and Rachel discuss history! The only history podcast on this list, Hashtag History is the most recent addition to my “following” section on Spotify! I found them when looking up episodes on the shark attacks that inspired the movie, Jaws; the 1916 shark attacks! I love what they’re doing, and I can’t wait to dig into more of their episodes as well! There’s plenty of crime in here yet, after all; I’m looking forward to checking out their episodes on Jack the Ripper and Lizzie Borden!

By Alessio Zaccaria on Unsplash

13) Punk Rock Horror Podcast

Last, but certainly not least, I couldn’t make this Baker’s Dozen 2021 podcast list without including the “Punk Rock Horror Podcast”. Undead Matt and Krampus Cody have quite the collection of episodes that showcase awesome interviews, epic punk rock, chats about various horror movies, and conversations about the creepy and the criminal. And of course, these clowns sprinkle in a generous amount of humor. And I don’t refer to them as clowns to be mean.

You see…

...I went to high school with these guys!!! Cody even dated my former best friend, and Matt attended my 21st birthday party - and I attended his New Year’s party the following New Year, where I was introduced to the game “Cards Against Humanity”. Honestly, thinking back - that was the most fun I’ve ever had at a party, and I didn’t feel as left out as I usually would have. And they have always been the class clowns.

In fact, if you’ll indulge me, I’d like to share my favorite high school story involving them both.

During our senior year (2009), we were moved from the old school building into the new building that was finally finished for our last few months. At the old building, I’d sat alone at lunch. But in the new building, the tables were long and the seats connected.

By NIKHIL KESHARWANI on Unsplash

It was Cody who was kind enough to invite me to join him and the guys when I was a bitchy bitch no one wanted around! So this one day, Cody goes to get in line for his food. A fellow named Harrison took the opportunity to pull out a few armpit hairs and slip them into Cody’s open soda. Cody returned to the table and we all stifled our laughter as he drank from the can. When questioned, I told him what had been done. Cody nodded quietly a moment in contemplation before he rose.

You know that quote? “You can pick your friends. You can pick your nose. But you can’t pick your friend’s nose.” Well, that rule did not apply to Cody; he picked Harrison’s nose and kinda made him eat it in retaliation. Harrison then licked Matt because Matt was laughing, and Matt proceeded to use damn near my entire little bottle of hand sanitizer. He poured it onto his hand, and then tried to wash the spit off with it. I can't recall exactly why, but I remember Matt winding up with hand sanitizer in his mouth, which he regretted? I have a memory of him licking hand sanitizer off his hand that day, though I can't recall how it escalated to that. I may have some details wrong here - it’s been over a decade. But Cody picked his friend’s nose, and Matt regretted having hand sanitizer in his mouth, 100%. That happened. It was some of the funniest shit I ever saw at our high school!

They’ve always been a real laugh riot - and best buds. It warms my heart that they’re still the same chaotic duo I remember.

If you would’ve come up to me in high school and told me that they would be creating such a podcast - I wouldn’t have blinked an eye. It’s right up their alley in every way imaginable. It’s awesome to hear them happily covering the things in their podcast, because I know it is all the things they enjoyed.

Funnily enough, Cody invited me to like their podcast back when they started up. However, back then, I wasn’t really into those. I didn’t use anything that podcasts were on, so didn’t really know much about them. Fast forward to 2021.

Eventually, as I found and sought out more and more podcasts on Spotify about criminal cases, I came across their podcast. At first, I didn’t realize it was them - it had been a long time since I heard them, after all. But once I made the connection, I just had to laugh; Cody invited me to follow years ago, yet I still came around on my own after all these years! Obviously, since I went to school with them, I couldn’t put them higher on the list - it’d be “cheating”! That said, my old classmates still make the cut!

By Matt Collamer on Unsplash

Speaking of old classmates, I’d like to take the time to point readers to the aid of another of my high school classmates. He’s been asking since June for $7,000 to pay medical bills as he recovers from COVID-19, having his appendix removed, and the building he lived in catching fire this year! He’s at $6,000 currently, but he’s sat at that for over a month; no further donations since. I’ve donated a meager amount (I don’t really have money coming in at this time) and shared his link so many times since June, and I would love to see him finally reach his goal for Christmas this year. I know he would appreciate it greatly, so if you are willing and able to do so, please consider donating. You can donate to his GoFundMe here.

Thank you for taking the time to read through my Baker’s Dozen of podcasts in 2021! I hope you’ve enjoyed the read, and hope you check some of these folks out!

review
1

About the Creator

Megan Baker (Left Vocal in 2023)

A fun spin on her last name, Baker enjoyed creating "Baker's Dozen" lists for various topics! She also wrote candidly about her mental health & a LOT of fiction. Discontinued writing on Vocal in 2023 as Vocal is a fruitless venture.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Megan Baker (Left Vocal in 2023) is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.