Humans logo

Ayra Starr Opens Up About Dating Life in New Interview

Ayra gets honest

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian singer Ayra Starr just released her latest single "Rush" and the song is doing amazingly well. Personally, I also love the song and it seems that a lot of Nigeria and the world at large does too. In promotion of the song, Ayra Starr stopped at the Beat 99.9FM to talk about it as well as to chat about life, relationships, and her surprise collaboration with Wizkid. It was quite the interesting interview, here are the highlights of what Ayra Starr said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Ayra Starr on The Beat 99.9FM

During the show, Ayra Starr was asked "You are 20 years old. One thing my mother always used to tell me was at 20, 21, you shouldn't be in a very serious relationship. At 20, do you agree? Are you into relationship right now?", she responded saying:

No. Right now, na bag. Tha bag. I have to be who I was always meant to be. This has always been my dream and I have the opportunity now. No distractions please for now.

"But that doesn't mean you're lonely, that doesn't mean no one is calling your hotline bling?"

Well, I'm not saying that. I'm Ayra Starr you know [laughs]. But no distractions.

"Even if you were going to date when you are ready, do you think you're going to date in your own industry?"

Hmmm. To be honest, I don't want to think too much about it. When it happens, it happens. If it's in the industry, if it's outside the industry, if it happens, it happens. I'm not really forcing anything, everybody is going to be fine.

"You've known since the very tender age of 10 that this is what you wanted to do, but is there any other career path you think you could have followed?"

Yeah, I was modelling before I released my first EP. I was modelling full time actually before I released anything. I was getting money from that, that's what I was using to get stuff in school and all that. But now, I think I would still model. I still do actually, I have some projects coming soon.

"What would you say is the shortest studio session you've had to create one of these your hits?"

Hmm. The shortest studio session I've had in my life is actually the one with Wiz. It's crazy. It happened not too long ago, but that is the shortest. Me, I'm an overthinker and I like to do things. When I'm in a session, I'm there, I'm there for 2 days, no movement. We go write jam today. But the one with Wiz was so quick and we just had the song all of a sudden. I was shocked. That was the shortest studio session I've had in my life.

I'm excited to hear Ayra Starr and Wizkid's song. Maybe it could be the next Essence, who knows? Also, it's good to see Ayra focusing on her career for now. She is still in fact very young and her dreams are just now coming true, it is understandable why she would want to focus on that and leave romance for later down the line.

What do you think of what she said and of her answers? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.