Humans logo

Ayra Starr Finally Speaks About Her Father's Untimely Death

Ayra gets honest about loss

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian singer Ayra Starr is the current star of the moment, and frankly speaking she is one of the most interesting artistes working today. Right now, Ayra is enjoying massive success from her latest hit song "Rush" which is burning up the airwaves.

When the singer sat down with the people over at Cool FM to talk about the song and her life, nobody expected it to get as deep, raw, and honest as it did. If you did not know (even I did not know), Ayra Starr's father is actually dead. She was raised by her mom not because of her dad was absentee as many people have opined, but because her father passed away untimely. Now, during the interview, Ayra opened up about how the loss of her father affected her then, and how it affects her even until now. Here's what the talented songstress said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

During her interview with Cool FM, Ayra Starr was asked: "One of the things that has influenced you the most is loss that you experienced and we can feel that. I feel like from your music, anyone who is actually listening with intent can tell that okay, this person is deep, and that is because of experiences. How would you say that the demise of your dad shaped you into the formidable force you are today?". She responded saying:

Hmmm. That's a good question, no one has ever asked me that. So, losing my dad put me in a very vulnerable, the most vulnerable position I have ever been in my entire life. You know, I was very open at that time. Like I was shocked. I had never lost anybody before and losing my dad like all of a sudden was a shake, like this is real life. This is it. You're going to have to work hard, you're going to have to make money, you're going to have to be the one to make things move for you, for your family. And I try to put that into my work and my music because that's why I'm travelling around the world. That's why I'm working hard, that's why I'm doing festivals. That's why I'm doing all these things. I'm working so hard, I don't sleep. No sleep, not yet. When it's time to sleep, you guys will know, I will sleep [laughs]. But like, it really put me in a very vulnerable position. I also like to put that in my music you know. I think, before that happened, I used to just write songs about like heartbreak that has not happened to me. But now, I feel like I can make music just about life and loss. Not just heartbreak from a romantic perspective, more like heartbreak from actual life. I know what pain feels like so I make music to make people feel better.

Sorry for your loss Ayra Starr. I did not even know she has gone through this kind of loss. Losing a parent is an unimaginable kind of pain. I'm happy to see her using that pain to make others feel better. It's not easy.

What do you think about Ayra Starr said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • 插座恩沃里about a year ago

    ohh, mi propio seguimiento, lo siento mucho por los dolores 😣 escuchados, solo el Creador sabe por qué ya falleció, pero que haya sido lo suficientemente más fuerte que nuestros enemigos.por.espiritualmente, todo irreversible, Amenlove 4ever

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.