Humans logo

Autumn and Winter Romance - Part 2

A Romantic Story with Asexual Undertones

By Colleen SweeneyPublished 6 years ago 6 min read
Like

“Me too,” I said rather matter-of-factly. “I wasn’t sure how to broach the subject with you, because most guys never take that news well. So, we’re on the same page with that subject.”

And that was where we left that. Neither one of us discussed what aspect of the spectrum we were on, just that neither of us wanted sex.

But my poor mother, who was unaware of our still-rather-taboo sexual orientation was unnerved by it because we’d been going out for a few weeks without having kissed one another.

“It will happen when it happens, Mom. I am not going to get myself all in a tizzy about it. Things are moving at their own pace, and oddly enough, that is fine with me.” I was up in Peabody, visiting my mom for Thanksgiving, and having to deal with her mental breakdown over the cavalier attitude I had regarding Robert’s and my situation.

“Mom, I am going to take a walk around the block. Try and calm down, okay?”

********

After my walk, I had dinner and settled in to watch movies with my mom. She went to bed early, leaving me to watch the Jane Austen movies she wouldn’t dare watch to my heart’s content. Robert interrupted me with a casual text.

What are you up to, this Thanksgiving Eve?

Watching a Jane Austen movie.

Which one?

Pride and Prejudice.

Why are you so curious about my movie watching?

Boredom. My parents are watching cheesy Hallmark Christmas movies.

Aw, come on. The Christmas Card is a wonderful movie, if that is what your parents are watching.

Nope.

They’re watching some Love at the Macy’s Parade-type crap. I just wanted to check in and see if you’re in hell like I am.

You’re not, which makes me envious of you. Good night, Sloane.

Lol. Go to another room, Rob. Good night.

************

Thanksgiving Day, I felt I was in my own personal hell. My aunt and uncle were over, my mom was telling everyone about my “situation,” and I had no possible means of escape. I somehow managed to grin and bear it through the early dinner, and then made my escape after cleaning up the dishes. I walked to the nearby park, and sent a text to Robert.

Are you free to talk?

I waited for the reply, but instead, my phone began ringing.

“Hi,” I said pathetically.

“What’s up, Sloane?”

“I was in my own personal hell today. Can you talk? I don’t want to interrupt your family time.”

“It’s fine, Sloane. Dinner is over, my dad and uncle are watching the game, and my mom’s asleep. Where are you? You don’t sound like you’re in Forsyte Cove.”

“I’m up in Peabody, at my mom’s.” There was silence on the other end of the line.

“You’re that close to me, and you didn’t have the decency to tell me? If you want, I could drive up and talk to you in person.”

“Rob, I don’t want to trouble you. You’re with your family, I don’t want to be responsible for any animosity from them for this.”

“There will be no animosity, Sloane. They won’t even notice I am missing.”

“Well…if it’s no trouble, then okay.”

**********

I was sitting watching the leaves blow around the sidewalk when Robert drove up in his Land Rover like a maniac.

I really need to talk to him about his dramatic parking style.

As he got out of the car, I noticed he had let his facial hair go wild. It was heavy stubble, but it made him look even more handsome against his pale skin. He pulled me into a hug, and then we started walking through the park. For a while, I avoided the reason I had texted him in the first place, but he didn’t wait too long before inquiring.

“What happened to make you text me?”

“Nothing really. It was just being trapped in my mom’s house with family and not able to escape. I’ve spent the last two days listening to my mom drone on and on about you and me, and I couldn’t stand it any longer when she was doing it during dinner.”

“What exactly was it about the two of us that had her in such a frenzy?”

“The fact we’ve been seeing each other for nearly a month, and have yet to kiss. I mean, I don’t get why she cares, because it’s not her relationship!” I walked off to the edge of the lake in the center of the park, with Robert quickly on my heels.

I spun around quickly, and said, “I get that she cares about my relationship, but I told her that I didn’t care that nothing has happened. Despite my reassurances on the subject, she just won’t let it go.”

Robert walked up alongside me, and said, “Maybe it does secretly bother you, which is why you’re so bothered about her constantly bringing it up.”

I looked up at Robert, and back at the lake. “No, honestly, it doesn’t bother me. It should, but it hasn’t been an issue for me.”

“Do you think if we did, it would get her to shut up?” He looked down at me, an expectant look on his face, mixed with his playful smile.

I scoffed. “I highly doubt it. It would just be another thing for her to endlessly barrage me with. And then she’d want to meet you, and I might as well just say goodbye to you here and now if that happens.”

Robert reached his hand down, and entwined our fingers together. My hand felt like liquid fire. “Don’t be so quick to assume how I’d respond to meeting your mother. I feel the same way about my own mother, whom I love more than life itself.”

For a while, we just stood at the edge of the lake, hand-in-hand, in total silence. Then, he turned me to face him.

“Sloane Hamilton, has anyone ever told you that you’re slightly dramatic?”

I nodded slightly. “It has been mentioned once or twice, but I am not normally like this.”

“I know. That’s why I think that deep inside, you’re annoyed that we haven’t kissed.”

“Rob, I assure you I’m n--” He kissed me. His hands were gripping my upper arms tightly, as if he’d lose his grip on me through the many layers I was wearing to keep warm. His mouth was warm and soft, but it quickly went to being urgent and his lips pressed firmly against mine. I felt his heartbeat match my own fast pace, as a flush crept up to my then-cold cheeks. His breath instantly calmed me. I had been so revved up with annoyance, and he had instantly calmed me down.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Colleen Sweeney

I've been writing for over twenty years, spurred on by the death of my grandpa and unable to find a way to express myself. I graduated from college with a degree in Creative Writing, and a minor in Psychology.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.