Humans logo

Assets Exposed

No more bandage dresses

By Tia FloydPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Assets Exposed
Photo by Kenny Sabugo on Unsplash

Every other weekend, my girlfriends and I would take a four-hour drive down to Orlando from North Florida to hang out at Universal Studios City Walk. To prepare for our trip, we spent hours getting eyelash and hair extensions, deluxe gel manicures and pedicures, spent hundreds of dollars on clothes and shoes, and skipped out of work early, and sometimes took the day off to get to City Walk by the time the clubs were starting to fill-up on Friday night. There were always cute guys, dressed like the cover of GQ magazine, sporting the latest designer styles and brands. So, we had to “kill it” and match the guys' fashion quo. The first place I ever saw more than 2 guys wearing Gucci in the same place and the smell of expensive French cologne, always wafting through the air.

City Walk has night clubs that cater to every music taste. One of the reasons, I enjoy City Walk is because they cater to all ages and have clubs that play every type of music. I can find a song in almost every genre that pleases my ears. Our night usually started at the one club that let you post your song choice to their social media page and they would play it. Sometimes you can hear Luke Bryan a country crossover artist, Michael Jackson, Stevie Nicks, Phil Collins, or Freak-A-Leak by Petey Pablo, it just depends on who’s in the club. After that we would walk to a more cosmopolitan club called, Red’s Coconut Club for cocktails, to rest our feet and people watch or should I say, guy watch. We were always fascinated by the diversity of the men at City Walk and admired their fashion sense. Since fashion sense was uncommon in North Florida. After an hour of boujeeness and seeing all the eye candy passing the Red’s, we went next door to one of my favorite clubs, the Bob Marley. The Bob Marley is an open-air club, no roof - no doors just like in Jamaica. We spent hours dancing to old-school reggae, Soca, Reggaeton, and dancehall, like TOK’s, Lil Money to Burn, Sizzla’s “Solid As A Rock,” and Vybz Kartel’s “Summer Time.”

The music was good for taking you to that place that made you forget your problems and have a good time like a good cocktail. One night I danced, so much until, I had to take off my 4-inch stilettos and walk out of the club barefoot. My feet were killing me after three hours of dancing. A group of guys of Indian descent that we had watched in the club walked out behind us. Three of us and three of them. The more mature one Raj tapped me on the shoulder and grabbed my shoes, said “let me help you with that” and started walking beside me. I was a little tipsy and tired, so I leaned up against the railing on the people mover, not realizing my dress had got caught on the rail and was riding the railing. My black bandage dress that was laid on like plastic wrap, had ridden up to my waistline. Exposing my precious assets for all to see. I was so tipsy, that I did not feel the wind on my exposed backside. To make it even more embarrassing, Raj’s friend and my friend Tracy were walking behind us. His friend yelled out, your assets are showing and offered to try and help me pull my dress down. When I got back home, I took that dress to Goodwill and have never worn a bandage dress again.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.