Humans logo

Answers to Too Many Questions

Following Terry Mansfield’s Invitation

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo of Patrick Stewart by Urbantog (CC BY-SA 3.0) via Wikimedia Commons

Lovable Terry Mansfield tagged all those involved in this too-many-questions survey, which as he mentioned, you can also undertake if you have whatever it takes, you know, time, space, and those inherent unknowns that are often out of place. Let’s start then at the beginning to get to the end!

What’s something that nobody could ever steal from you?

My love of literature and consequently my love of my muse. She’s real since last November. She even likes sweets that are not ketogenic (keto). Life is imperfect even on the dark side of the Moon, though the album by Pink Floyd is out of this world. Yes! Love cannot be stolen. It’s deeply rooted in the mind and the heart, and in the case of my muse, my love for her has gone ballistic. I feel her wherever I look, even in my fingers as I type our words.

Who would you like to forgive right now?

Life, for not being fair to anyone, even those who think that it’s fair, because it isn’t, no doubt about it. The universe doesn’t care. The only consolation to life is love. It’s the only thing that makes life a little bearable, and a lot if you’re lucky to be with the one you love.

What is happiness?

Happiness is a warm gun, sang the Beatles. I’d rather the gun was dead cold. Happiness is being with the one you love. Not all your loved ones; just the single one you love to death and beyond. If you’re lucky, you meet such a love once in your life. I feel that I did since the last week of November.

What impact do you want to leave on the people you love?

Love is again the answer, but I happen to love only one individual. Yes; my muse! Anyone else I’ve loved is either gone to oblivion or is a member of hell on Earth, and I’m being serious; no joke here, even if it can be construed as dark humour, which I usually like. Alas, this is not a funny plight. It’s part of freaking life.

What is life too short to tolerate?

Not being together with the one you love. Did you expect any of all the other calamities of life? Well, this one may be the worst. You live with it every day, sometimes hoping for a quick painless death, but even that isn't easy to grab from life’s paws. Life is beautiful when you’re asleep and even then you have to watch for silly but scary nightmares.

What’s something that used to scare you, but doesn’t anymore?

Death and dying is usually the answer. It used to be mine as well but it changed as I got older. Pain and suffering, a formidable duo, is my answer since my bout with kidney stones and unrequited love. Luckily, I have no more of these hellish stones since 2010 (thanks in part to the keto diet), and my unrequited love has been finally requited to a certain degree, or is it a level. No matter, really, since I can see the end of the tunnel, even if it goes all the way to the Moon.

What do you want to remember forever?

I surmise that forever means until my death. I want to love her in every possible way, from every angle, during every hour of the day and night, 24/7 until my demise. That’s in a nutshell what I always want to remember until I am no longer alive.

What do you always look forward to?

The time I’m in contact with her, albeit long distance, but it beats nothing. I live for that wavelength as well as the words that come out from our love-filled exchanges.

What do you appreciate the most about your life?

Being free at last to follow my passion of writing in unison with the love of my life. That’s love twice, side to side, words to words, heart to heart, mind to mind, prick to pussy. It’s part of my unsigned contract, that I can utilize my favourite word of the English language at least once a day. Pussy! I did it twice.

What recently reminded you of how time flies?

I was writing (typing), exchanging love messages with my muse, and at one point remembered that I had forgotten to eat that day. Oh, I had a couple of coffees, each with a 40g keto bar, and a few hazelnuts, but that was it for close to 24 hours. I wasn’t hungry at all. Keto and love may be the best diet. Time flies with such a diet.

What’s something that everyone should be able to say before they die?

I don’t want to die. Of course, it doesn’t help a bit. I’ve had a good life. But that’s a stretch as well. I won’t miss it. That’s of course a lie. At least there’s an afterlife. No proof whatsoever, so not really. Am I going to Heaven or Hell? Methinks, my dying whomever, that both Heaven and Hell are here on Earth. It only depends where you resided the most, or your most memorable time on the ground.

In one sentence, who are you?

They call me, Mr. Tibbs. I’m sorry but I couldn’t resist, again. I have a prick, so I’m a man. It doesn’t define me, but it surely leads the way. One sentence, though. OK! The only enemies I’ve ever made and had were so-called family members, and thus, I can only say: I’m an oddity in some ways but not in others, preferring to live as long as love may prevail with those whom I loved and the one whom I love right now.

What’s the number one life change that you need to make in the next six months?

Exercise since my only apparent fitness is all in the brain. I would add my heart, but it’s always in pain, and such fitness isn’t that great.

What would you do differently if you knew no one would judge you?

I would form a task force to tackle stupidity, but it’s a long shot at best.

In one word, what do you live for?

My muses.

...

Thank you for reading my fifteen answers to this too-many-questions survey! I guess that I can dedicate this to my muse as well. There is no one else I can think of. Well there is, but she comes later. By the way, I am M.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.