Humans logo

Angela Okorie Reveals STARTLING Amount of Money She Collects to Perform Her Music At Events

Angela talks music and money

By Jide OkonjoPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like

Popular Nigerian actress Angela Okorie spends more time these days singing and performing at shows, than she does in front of the camera. Some people didn't understand why before but when you find out the monetary reason why now, maybe it will become more clear. During a new interview with This Day, Angela Okorie opened up about her music career, and revealed how much money she collects to play her songs at events. Here is what Angela Okorie said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Firstly, speaking about how much money she spends to record her music, Angela Okorie said:

ANGELA OKORIE: I have some songs like, E Pain Dem, Ije Life, Vibes, Lift Me Up, Give Me Love, Because of Money… but Legit actually went far. I put in over a 120 million naira in it… So far it has got over a million streams.

When asked "With social media your claim to spend such amount on a song could be argued. Because you could have used social media to push the song alongside your popularity" she responded:

ANGELA OKORIE: Yea social media but how about people on the streets? Not everybody is on social media. The street is where the credibility is. What social media can do for you is different from the streets.

When asked if she writes her songs, or if she pays other people to write her songs, Angela Okorie said:

ANGELA OKORIE: Yeah I write my songs, all my songs I have written. But right now, I’m tired of writing. My song Legit I wrote that song many years ago. It has to be on some form of agreement if someone should write a song for me. I will get my lawyer involved and we sign and do it not after writing the song and I invest in it and the person comes out and starts dragging me and claiming owing him/her for the song. There should be some kind of agreement before taking up a song someone wrote. I have about over a hundred songs written but not released. So there are still more songs…

Speaking about challenges she's had doing music and finally, how much she gets paid to perform at events, Angela Okorie said:

ANGELA OKORIE: The truth is some of my friends in music weren’t really open to working with me. I mean friends that I knew when I started acting o! But that’s it. I kept on doing my thing and I’m cool getting paid for it. Now if you come to me for collaboration and its fine we do. My popularity from acting has helped me. My movie fans automatically turned into my music fans. I’m legendary. I’m the highest paid actress at the moment… The last time I featured in a movie some three years ago I got paid 3million naira. Now if you want to have me on a movie set for weeks is 10million naira. Same amount I get paid to perform at shows here in Nigeria.

Wow! 10 million naira to book Angela Okorie to perform at an event. That is A LOT of money. I don't even think a number of more popular artistes charge up to that amount. What do you think about what Angela Okorie charges for a show? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.