Humans logo

Aluna Dragon

The Strongest Woman I Know

By Katie ShayPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo from our latest music video - Little Dark Angel

To the Divine Goddess that is my Best Friend,

Miss Aluna Dragon.

What makes a woman strong?

Is it growing up in a trailer in the face of adversity while still holding onto big dreams? Is it getting out of the strip club after 7 years because you know you're destined for something far greater? Is it working out at the gym 5 days a week, learning martial arts and self-defense, and building strength from physical endurance? Or is it the ability to find the perfect balance of masculine/feminine within, and to a hold sacred healing space for others?

I believe it could be a combination of all, and for you Aluna Dragon, that's exactly what it is.

We met on my birthday weekend through a mutual friend on Facebook. You were looking for a ride to Sonic Bloom, and I happened to have some room. Sonic Bloom was our first festival adventure together; the first of many. Since then, we have created so much amazing art together, it honestly blows my mind. Photoshoots, music videos, Tiktoks and Instagram reels... and we've only been co-creating for 1.5 years.

Oh the places we'll go!

Aluna Dragon, you are my best friend. My confidant. My partner in Shine, as you like to call it. We bring out the best in each other and are always encouraging each other, which I genuinely appreciate and value in a friendship. I remember when we were in Flagstaff shooting Full Moon Kinda Mood, and you were feeling a little frazzled and nervous, and you looked at me with these big brown eyes and asked me if your makeup was okay. Your mascara was a little smudged from tears and I helped you wipe it away. I felt like a proud mama bear giving her cub a pep talk, haha. It was cute, and its those moments that make me realize how much I love you, and how grateful I am to be on this journey with you.

You were so strong during our video shoot in Flagstaff. I know it was freezing, but we powered through and you looked amazing. I admire you for putting yourself out there and being unapologetically YOU, regardless of what others say and think. I know you feel like you have a few haters out there, but thats just because you are so bright that some people dont know how to handle it. I think it comes with the territory of the path to fame.

Getting to know you over the past few years has been a blessing. I've gotten to know your family, followed you around with a camera in your home town, and I can see your inner child bursting at the seams to create more magical artistic things. I love that your father always encouraged you to express yourself and follow your passion, even though you struggled with self doubt and insecurities. I know that you didn't believe in yourself when you were younger, and that your dreams of becoming a singer were put on the back burner for a long time. I've only ever known you as a musician, but I feel your dad played a big role in your evolution and I'm grateful that you had that support in your life. Because look at you now! Your voice has gotten stronger (since you practice pretty much daily) and now you have me to help you make videos and content so.. we're definitely going places ;)

You are a star on the rise, and like a Phoenix, have risen out of some really dark places. I commend you. The spiritual path ain't for the faint hearted, as we both know. It takes looking at those dark, scary aspects of ourselves and then discovering new ways of transmuting the darkness into light, which you do through your music and your laughter. Your lyrics are powerful and deep, and it takes a lot of courage to put yourself out there in this world. You are one of a kind; a magical Obsidian Butterfly.

Learning about your journey has truly been an inspiration. We come from different worlds, yet somehow we see eye to eye... literally, considering the Universe has brought us to share the same back yard. Ha!

So what makes you the strongest woman I know?

Your dedication.

You have a clear vision, you know what you want, and you are aligned with your higher self to bring down a mission that reaches far beyond this world. The mission is what it's all about. You are not afraid to stand in your power, and that confidence translates across the camera, which I think is beautiful. Your intensitity, passion, and drive, all contribute to your strength as an independent female entrepreneur. Your childhood has made you tough, and I know there are still some walls that need to come down, but your dedication to healing yourself, and sharing your healing gifts with others, is the key to making all of your dreams come true.

Thank you for being my BFF.

I'm so proud of you.

xoxo,

@bosskatie

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Katie Shay

Conscious Influencer

Content Creator

YouTuber

Writer

Artist

Model

Friend

@bosskatie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.