Humans logo

All of the Books I Read in 2022

2022 Reading Challenge Wrap-up

By Lauren Writes AustenPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Top Story - January 2023
30
All of the Books I Read in 2022
Photo by Christin Hume on Unsplash

2022 was a good year in books. If you read my article last year (2021 Reading Wrap-up) then you already know that I've been creating my own book challenge for over five years now.

This year, for my wrap-up/review of all of the books I read, I thought I'd do it in a "one sentence review" style, but make it 2 sentences because it was 2022.

So here are my 2 sentence reviews for the 22 books I read in 2022:

Challenges

1. A Book Published in 2022: One Italian Summer by Rebecca Serle

Looks like it's just a cheesy romance book. But it is so much more than that!

2. A Reread: Zorgamazoo by Robert Paul Weston

One of my favourite books of all/ Written in verse, it will enthral

3. A Book You Meant To Read Last Year: The Giver of Stars by Jojo Moyes

Should be called The Giver of Two Stars. Such a let down, especially considering how good the premise is...

4. A Book With Red On The Cover: Rainbow Valley by L.M. Montgomery

Book 7 in the Anne series. Much better than book 4-6 and includes my favourite chapter L.M. Montgomery has ever written (Chapter 8: The House On The Hill).

5. A Non-Fiction Book: I'll Be Gone In The Dark by Michelle McNamara

I'm not a true crime person but this was so well written and contained some endearing moments from the author. Also I wrote an entire article on it.

6. A Collection of Stories: Lady Susan, The Watsons, and Sanditon by Jane Austen

Interesting to see Austen's early and late writings side by side. Will probably write an article on this, so look out for that.

7. A Book Over 750 Pages: Les Miserable by Victor Hugo

Incredibly well written, but I wouldn't wish reading this on my worst enemies.

8. A Book About Teenagers: Loveless by Alice Oseman

Such a sweet little book. Alice Oseman is definately multi-talented!

9. A Lesser Known Book: Rilla of Ingleside by L.M. Montgomery

The final Anne of Green Gables book. All of the crap in the middle of the series is worth getting through for the final books.

10. A Book Made Into a Movie/TV Show: Deja Dead by Kathy Reichs

Tried to read every Temperance Brennan Mystery books this year (only got through five). This was by far my favourite one.

11. A Book Made From a Movie/TV Show: (Murder, She Wrote) Destination for Murder by Donald Bain

Have always loved the show. The book is truly just a written version of the show (in the best way).

Free Reads

This year I thought I'd give myself some freedom in what I could read so I kept half of my reading challenge as what I call "free spaces" (just meant that I could read whatever I wanted, no challenge or specifics for the books).

12. Girl, Woman, Other by Bernardine Evaristo

A bunch of interesting and insightful stories, but all connected somehow. Would recommend listening to it because it has no punctuation, which I was told gets confusing.

13. Death Du Jour by Kathy Reichs

Not as good as the first. Not as bad as the next.

14. Deadly Decisions by Kathy Reichs

Kind of mid. I don't love the back a forth between North Carolina and Quebec, I just wish she'd stay in one place.

15. Fatal Voyage by Kathy Reichs

The second best book of the series (that I've read so far). Definately better than The Giver of Stars.

16. Grave Secrets by Kathy Reichs

Possibly the worst book of the series (that I've read so far). But still better than The Giver of Stars.

17. To Have and To Hoax by Martha Waters

Hot, steamy, regency. Not my personal fave, but still good.

18. The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

To be honest, not my favourite. I suggest looking at reviews that detail some of the inconsistencies in the story.

19. My Year of Rest and Relaxation by Ottessa Moshfegh

I've been wanting to pick this book up since it came out. It has not left my mind since I finally did.

20. Death in Her Hands by Ottessa Moshfegh

Since I liked My Year of Rest and Relaxation so much I made it my goal to read as much Ottessa Moshfegh as possible. This was really well written but the ending was not conclusive enough for me.

21. McGlue by Ottessa Moshfegh

Read this twice: once listening to it, once actually reading it. Just had to double check that I didn't like it.

22. The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels by India Holton

Probably one of the best books I read this year! Hilarious, historical, someone please let me turn this into a movie!

Extras

- Gathie Falk: Revelations edited by Sarah Milroy ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

- Conversations With Friends by Sally Rooney ⭐️⭐️⭐️

- Beautiful World Where Are You by Sally Rooney ⭐️⭐️

- The Maid by Nita Prose ⭐️⭐️⭐️

-Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte ⭐️

-Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid ⭐️⭐️⭐️

literaturereviewlistbook reviews
30

About the Creator

Lauren Writes Austen

A dedcated creator to all things Jane Austen!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Jeremy Frommer11 months ago

    The fact that we live an era where tracking all you read in a year can be shared with others in an authentic community like Vocal, validates all the hard work that went into building a homebase for creators. I hope others are inspired to do as you do.

  • Zahra Movassaghabout a year ago

    بسیار زیبا و پسندیده https://clients1.google.li/url?sa=t&url=https://komaket.com/ https://clients1.google.com.pe/url?sa=t&url=https://komaket.com/ https://clients1.google.com.om/url?q=https://komaket.com/

  • Ibrahim Sani Mabout a year ago

    will put them on my checklist

  • Nithuabout a year ago

    best

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    You're my hero for making it through so many books. I miss recreational reading of literature. Right now my focus is on a lot of self-improvement books and ones that I can use to help others as part of coaching. Number 22 on your list really piqued my interest.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.