Humans logo

Aging Desmond Elliott Responds to Jokes and Negative Words Used Against Him

Desmond gets candid

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a month ago 3 min read
3

Nollywood actor and politician Desmond Elliott has been the object of so much ridicule and negative press, especially in his political career. There have been so many jokes and negative things written and made about Desmond. Some of the more popular examples are:

This picture
This post
This meme

Now, during a new interview with ThisDay, Desmond Elliott is speaking about how he feels about all this, and how he's dealing with it, especially now getting older, and with kids. Here's what he said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Speaking on how he's handling the heavy bashing and criticism online now that he's getting older, especially with his family exposed to it, Desmond Elliott said:

DESMOND ELLIOTT: I wouldn’t say it’s been an easy ride but what has made me confident is that I know it is not true. And this has given me confidence that the people that benefit from the impact which I give to my community are okay as there was a reason I wanted to go into service. It gives me so much joy to do something and know that as a result of my intervention someone’s life got better. In terms of how to deal with the negative press, I always ensure my family is okay in terms of being sane and they understand what’s going on. These times give me the opportunity to explain to my kids and tell them my own side of the story whenever situations come up. Incidentally it’s become part of the world we live in today and since I can’t change it, I leave it the way it is and hope as well as pray that posterity will speak in my favour and vindicate me in whatever accusations or allegations that have been made. That is on one part and the other is that no one has a perfect solution to anything and in my mind I give my best. I feel for public servants in situations that decisions are been made and the decisions affect a lot of people. But I feel there are constructive ways people can convey such. But like I said it is the situation we are in today.

Thanks for diving into this story with me! Btw, every time you read, support, and share my work, it fuels my hunger to keep bringing you the latest news on your favorite Nigerian celebrities, movies, music and more. Your thoughts also matter to me, so please share them in the comments below, or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post. Let's keep the conversation going and I can't wait to see your thoughts on this.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to subscribe to my newsletter if you don’t already for more stories like this - collated every week and sent right to your inbox so you don't miss out on anything.

Btw, in addition to blogging, I also make money through Whatsapp Status Sessions. If you also want to earn money through status sessions, I've created a complete guide to help you get started so we can all eat! Download it here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
3

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.