Humans logo

Afro Puffs, Dashiki, and Bell-Bottom Blues

Sixties Styling

By Saja Bo StormPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Sounds from a transistor radio blasting Eric Clapton, Sly and the Family Stone, The Bee Gees, Smokey Robinson and the Miracles, The Beatles, The Supremes. You are ready to go out. It doesn't matter where you are going. You have to feel good. You have to look good. You are young and you have a dream you are going places, but you need to look like the world belongs to you. the 60s opened a new life other excitement. War. Make Love not war dancing in the street burning bras it opened my eyes should I wear Flowers in my hair the student union we're meeting there it's time to sign up for the sitting where your brother’s dashi the colors blind you as you look in the mirror the Blues yellows, greens, red they match the rainbow. You've got to put it over your head carefully as not to mess up your Afro puffs. It took you are mourning temperature here and rap the rubber bands around your her trying to escape its imprisonment. your hair looks fabulous. You're running around like a chicken with his head cut off where are your pants where are you change dirty are in the corner of the room it didn't even take the time to fold them up. Did I wear those yesterday? I don't have time to wander. I'm late for my first 8:30 class. Biology. Ug h! The only thing I like about biology is my professor Mr. Kelly. Francine and I both I fell in love with Mr. Kelly on the first day of class. She made me stay behind after class well she asked him 50 stupid questions about an assignment she had already done. I don't know what I'm gonna do my brothers in Vietnam and I have to write to him again. I don't know anything about Vietnam. I only know that it's wrong. I wrote a letter to one of my brothers Air Force buddies his name was Daniel. He wrote me back I remember he told me that the letter I sent him was a sweet-smelling letter. How did the perfume I spray on the latter stay strong enough to last from Baltimore to Vietnam? I'm afraid to write him again because I don't wanna lose him. If something happens to him my heart will break. My heart is tender. I only have room for one heartbreak. And I'm saving that for my brother in case he doesn't return. So, is off to school. Arrival France sing and she's playing James Brown I'm black and I'm proud with every beat she stops and starts the car. That girl is crazy. But we are friends. She's wearing she's wearing a headband with beads and tide started back Francine’s hair is too WAVY and curly to go in two Afro puffs like mine. She kinda looks like someone from the Blackfoot tribe she said her mother said they have Indian in them I really don't know what that means but because my hair this course and worry I suppose I don't have any Indian in me. Francine is wearing a dashi key too I don't think she got her Dashiki from her old oldest brother because Francine is an only child the fabric of her dashiki is just as bold and bright as mine, but we don't match. Francine is very tall, and her Bell bottoms look better on her because of her length she has the statue's look. I'm short and chubby so my Bell bottoms are too long you can't even see my feet I might as well be barefoot but I choose to wear sandals Zorro’s not really sandals they're like shoes you can get for $0.10 on the Avenue we call them sorrows I don't even know what material they're made out of but they come in different colors Anne of the construction never Zorro was quite precarious one trip end the song will be released from the center of the shoe and you can't fix it believe you me I've tried the only thing you can do let's go back download Ave and buy another pair of sorrows. Trancing turned up the radio and parks her car in the parking lot of the canteen. We get out looking fly but afraid about own shadows and this brand-new world a protest, demonstrations, and college classes. When we walk in the cat team canteen, we see ourselves reflected in the other students. Fashion al fashion is their fashion. What we wear is who we are. Perhaps the future will allow us to maintain this dress code because it was the right dress for the right time. I think we need to go back and get it because the fight isn't over.

vintage
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.