Humans logo

About Eira

A Canadian, a nature lover, a lurcher nurturer, and a baking fiend.

By Eira Braun-LabossierePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Steeped in nature. I love kayaking and being outdoors, like every Canadian should! (Photo by Author.)

I am Canadian.

Being Canadian brings a strong affiliation with nature. I grew up on the great big expanse of the glorious Canadian Prairies on a small family farm.

Reading and writing have always been a natural draw for me. With an English major and Linguistics minor, I graduated with a Bachelor of Arts in my early twenties. Those years in university not only helped me develop my writing, they also enhanced my critical thinking.

When I attended University I met the most amazing and most interesting person of my life. I was totally smitten and fortunately, the feelings were mutual. We got married right out of university and have a loving, fun, and adventurous life together.

Expertise

I don't claim to have any areas of expertise but I hope that existing on this planet for half a century counts for some life experiences I can share. I have been published in various online publications. As part of my job, I also write copy for our newsletter and for marketing purposes. On occasion, I've also been hired for editing and guest blogging.

Experiencing Nature

I very much enjoy writing about why nature is so important to me. I have found that the constancy and availability of trees, water, and sky are often what keep me grounded. I hope that what I write about either resonates with my reader or prompts the reader to find that nature can do the same for them. Topics include kayaking, fishing, and walking our dogs.

Career

I've always worked for smaller companies and for most of my career I have worked remotely from my home office.

This suits me just fine because I find I can focus on my work better plus I have the best office mates a person could ask for , puppers named Mr. T and Mr. Berns. (They prefer that I use their "professional titles" in the office.)

Dog Love

Our pets are our children. Early in our relationship, my husband and I adopted cats and when we felt we were ready, we invited dogs into our lives. Retired racing greyhounds, and a foxhound-greyhound cross, to be exact. These magnificent creatures were absolute perfection and we loved every single moment we had with all five of them.

When they passed on we decided to adopt a retired racing lurcher and another retired racing greyhound. Lurchers are a larger breed dog, a type of greyhound cross. Our Mr.T (or just T) was a "swim trial racer", a Treeing Walker Coonhound crossed with a greyhound. Mr. Berns (or Berny) is 100% greyhound and only very recently off the track. They are the gentlest most loving companions and they hold our hearts completely.

Mr. Berns (L) & Mr. T (R) at play. (Photo by Author.)

Baking

Another hobby I try NOT to enjoy too frequently is baking. I have a wicked sweet tooth for chocolate and the ritual of pulling together a recipe of chocolate chip cookies or other baked delights is my kind of meditation. My go-to's are cookies, bread, and cakes.

Writing

I started prioritizing personal writing again at the beginning of 2020, right before Covid hit and I'm so glad I did; it's certainly been an excellent distraction from the events of this topsy turvy time in history. It is a perspective giver and it exercises the creative side of my brain. It feels like a quiet personal indulgence and there are days we all need to find something that centers us.

I look forward to publishing here at Vocal and I hope you like what you read! Stay well, everyone!

feature
1

About the Creator

Eira Braun-Labossiere

Prairie girl | Nature lover | Greyhound/Lurcher guardian | Canadian

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.