Humans logo

A short story

Dakota

By SHEPublished 4 years ago Updated 2 years ago 12 min read
1

I met Blake when I was 17 years old. He stood 6'4 with dark brown eyes and black dreadlocks that hung down his back. When he came to Rosewater Calabasas, he didn't socialize with the other kids. However, he had no choice but to ride to and from school with me because there was no other way for him to get around other than the bus and he didn't have the money for bus fair. As the year went on he eventually opened up to me and we became good friends. On the night before my 18th birthday, he came into my room, like any regular night. He sat on the couch and watched "Revenge" on the tv while I was in the shower. When I came out, I joined him an we just sat there watching the show for a few minutes. Then a commercial came on. I was leaning on his shoulder and he whispered in my ear "You comfortable right here or you wanna go to the bed?" "We can go sit on the bed if you want to" "okay come on" he said. By the time we were in my bed the show came back on. Again, we watched the show for a few more minutes and then he began kissing me. I leaned back and said "Blake wha-" He kissed me again. Then he began to slide his hands down my adidas shorts until he finally took them off of me, my PINK sports bra too. He then went down under the covers and began kissing on my body. I'm not going to lie, it felt good but I kept thinking " it's happening again". He began to caress my body and do things to me that I never thought could be done. I felt numb at this point, it’s almost like I blacked out. When he was done he took the condom off and went to sleep. I just laid there for a few minutes with tears rolling down my face. I didn't want to wake him up so I eventually got up and went to the balcony outside of my room. There were several thoughts going through my head because I didn't understand what was going on. When I woke up the next morning, I was still outside. I went inside and he was still knocked out in my bed. I went to the bathroom and took another shower. I tried to scrub him off of me to the point where my skin turned red and I began to cry again. I got out and looked in the mirror at the hickies he left on my neck. I woke him up for school and the most surprising thing happened. He looked at me and said "Dakota, I really like you and I hope that I didn't make you feel uncomfortable last night" "Blake what do you mean when you say like ?" "Like as in have feeling for, we're both 18 now so we can leave this place together" I could not believe that Blake actually had feelings for me. I didn't even suspect it. He never gave me any hints or anything. But he seemed to really care for me so why not give it a chance. We were both 18, which meant we couldn't stay at RWC anymore so I got us an apartment and we both enrolled in college at California State University. Things were going great and our first year went by as a breeze. The beginning of sophomore came around and I noticed that Blake was becoming distant. He started coming home later and there were nights that he wouldn't come home at all. One night he decided to come home around 9pm. While he was in the shower I decided to search every inch of his phone to see if he was cheating on me. I didn't find anything but I knew something was up. After asking him many times what was going on, I figured he was lying to me so I had decided to break up with him. " Dakota where you expect me to go? You know I don't have any family. I don't have anywhere else to stay" "You can go stay at where you've been for the past couple of nights. I don't have time for you and your bullshit Blake. Get out". He packed his things with no problem and left. The next couple of months were kind of hard for me because I saw him everywhere on and off of campus, but I'll be damned if I said anything to him. I had to boss up and get myself together. One of the students in my journalism class, Jamison, was starting his own business and he needed a few people to join his promotion team. Although I was already making money by doing a YouTube Channel and promoting several brands for Instagram, I figured that would be a good way for me to clear Blake from my mind. He found a building and his business became official, RIYOK; Rule In Your Own Kingdom. We promote brands,labels, parties and even other businesses. Months went by and sophomore year came and went. I was beginning to feel single again. It is now September which means Homecoming is only a month away. Jamison is planning and promoting parties with his frat brothers from a fraternity. Everything becomes overwhelming and he hires a receptionist named Delilah who ironically looked and acted like me. We even had the same last name. That alone brought us closer and she became my best friend. Me and Delilah told each other everything so of course we discussed our love lives. One day while me and Delilah were talking overheard a voice that sounded very familiar coming from another room. The person said my name so I walked to the room to see who it was and it was Blake. "Hey Kota" "Hey Blake" I said while wondering what he was doing talking to Jamison. "I heard my name, who's talking about me?" "Oh. I was just telling Jay about us... how you ended our relationship for no reason" "It wasn't for no reason, you gave me the impression that you no longer wanted to be in a relationship so I ended it" "Girl I love you why wouldn't I want to be with you-you're just crazy" " Sooooo what was the problem then? "I can't tell you" "Wow" I said in laughter "then I'm done with the conversation" Jay looked at me and said " Kota you just trippin, my mans wasn't cheatin on you or nothing like that" "Well I wouldn't know that because he can't tell me anything" Blake chimed in and said "yes I really can't tell you but I wasn't with no other bitches I just need you to believe me on that" I rolled my eyes and went back into my office. I had tons of work to do and I was trying to get it all done by 3pm. We had a party coming up that weekend so I had to urgently get prepared to promote that. On Friday, the day of the party, I came to work and noticed that Blake was there again. He came into my office and we had a little chat. " Kota can we talk?" " Sure wassup?" " Not here. Can we talk later?" "Sure dude. I guess you can come over before I get dressed for the party- I'll text you my new address". "Alright. Can I have a hug?" "Sure Blake " As I tried to hug him, he pulled me closer and squeezed me really tight. "Ouch dude I can't breathe" "I'm not gonna let you go until you give me a kiss" I started laughing " Blake I-" And just like that he kissed me. "Don't forget to text me the addy" and he walked out of the room. Later that evening, around 7pm, he came over to talk. "Look I'm not even supposed to tell you what I'm about to tell you but I care about you so much and I hate that this thing ruined our relationship" "Okay well what is it?" "I joined an organization.....a fraternity.... I was gonna tell you but you broke up with me before the probate... I'm a que now " "Why didn't you just tell me that? I didn't give you a reason to think I was cheating or anything when I pledged " "I wasn't supposed to say anything before the probate" "Okay well now I feel bad... like you had me out here thinking you was cheating or something.... I even looked through your phone one night" " well it wasn't nothing to look for because there was never another girl" "Well I apologize for assuming ... that was really low of me". "Come here ... give me a hug it's okay" I honestly had never felt so stupid in my life. I had broken up with the only guy I ever cared about because of my own insecurities. " So now what? Like do we get back together ooooor?" "yes Dakota give me a kiss to make it official" I started laughing "Blake you're so corny but you gotta dip because I have to get ready for this party.... I think you'll like my outfit" "You gonna give me a dance?" "Ehh I might... see you there" As he was leaving Delilah was pulling up so I headed to my room to get dressed and do my makeup. I got dressed and we headed to the party. It was so packed and hot in the building I felt dehydrated. It ended around 2am and it was freezing outside by that time. As me and Delilah were walking out, a black car drove by with two people hanging out of he windows shooting. We were both hit. I blacked out and woke up in the hospital room with tubes down my throat. I was so scared because I didn't even remember what happened. Blake was holding my hand so tight that I thought he was going to cut my circulation. "I wanna go home" I said with tears rolling down my face. "I know babe you'll go home soon" When the doctor came back in the room to remove the tubes he stated that my "twin sister" donated a pint of blood. I had no recollection of having a twin sister but I had a feeling he was talking about Delilah, who I thought could possibly be my cousin or something. I woke up the next morning and was released to go home but Blake insisted that I stay with him. We went to his house and the first thing I did was call Delilah to ask her about what the doctor had said the night before. She said she had spent the morning out taking to adoption agencies and she found out that in fact we were twin sisters. I was born on December 31 at 11:56 pm as Dakota Leilani Jermaine and then she came along on January 1 at 12:06 am as Delilah Liliana Jermaine. Turns out that he doctor who told us that we were twins happened to be our father Donald Luther Jermaine. We contacted him to ask about our mother but he said he hadn't heard from her in 20 years. Delilah and I were 20 at the time, we both knew that it meant he hadn't heard from her since we were born. He gave us a name Selena Rosario. We searched but we didn't find anything. A few days later as I was scrolling down my Instagram feed, I got a follow request from two girls named Anastasia and Anaya. They claimed to be our cousins. As happy as I was to finally have family in my life, I still had doubts about it so I tired to express my feelings to Blake. "Babe these two girls say they're my cousins on my moms side of the family, maybe they can give me so info about her. I think I want to meet her" "Well okay" "What's wrong?" "Nothing" "Tell me" "It's nothing" "You're lying" "I don't wanna ruin your mood" "It's okay babe you can tell me anything. I wanna know what's on your mind" "I just see how happy you are with your family finally wanting to be apart of your life and it makes me angry to know that I will never have that. My parents raised me until I was 17 and then they dumped me at the adoption agency. Then I ended up at RWC.. I mean I have cousins that I still talk to but as far as my parents go they don't want anything to do with me. I don't have anybody" "I'm sorry if I made you feel any type of way about it. I know it's a touchy subject for you. You shouldn't let that affect you though babe because if you don't have anybody else you know you have me. I love you and you know that. I know I can't replace your mother but I can give you all of my love" I tried so hard to comfort him because I didn't want him to feel like I was replacing him with my family. I contacted Anastasia to set up a lunch date so that we could properly meet and talk about everything. Everything was going great, my relationship, my personal health and my family life. Over the next few days I spent time with Delilah and our cousins, they seemed really nice and eager to get to know us. They had only been in town for a few days when Anastasia and Anaya learned of their mother's death. Since she was our aunt, Delilah and I felt like we should attend the funeral with the hopes of meeting some of our other relatives. The funeral wasn't the right place to meet family so the girls set up a dinner the following night for us to come and get to know everyone. The twins, Ana, Anaya and Aziza also have twin sisters and twin brothers, our mothers were also twin sisters. I tried to get Blake to meet them but he wasn't feeling it and since things in our relationship were going so well I didn't push it on him. After a month of being back together we found out that we were going to have a baby. Blake was so excited and I couldn't wait to see that side of him. Soon after we found out we were expecting, Blake was contacted by someone from Child Protective Services. While we were broken up he had a one night stand with someone else and unknowingly got her pregnant. The mother commuted suicide and there was no one else to care for the baby however, a friend of hers and giving them Blake's name. They flew him out to Arizona where the baby was being kept and he had to sign some paperwork and deal with a few things. I called and called for days but he didn't answer. So here I am, pregnant and alone. That's all I kept thinking. A full seven days went by and he finally shows up with a little boy by his side. " This is my son Bentley, he's two. I have full custody of him now so if we're going to be together he's going to be staying with us. "

literature
1

About the Creator

SHE

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.