Humans logo

A Natural High

How Dancing Changed My Life

By Angela DaceyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
2

As I was promoting a local Ecstatic Dance event I was hosting (before Covid) I was shocked and truly surprised by the responses.

The reactions were anything but expected. Most people turned fearful and scared of participating in a dance party that was solely for them to dance to the beat of their own drum. A few said they couldn't dance in public without a drink or two and with this dance party - it was drug and alcohol free. Others stated they "can't" dance, worried about how they would look and the judgment that may lie internally or externally.

This is when I realized; we've lost connection to ourselves and our spirits within. We state we are spiritually conscious people, constantly improving ourselves and becoming self-aware. However, the innate spirit within is scared to be free.

Dancing offers you a chance to experience YOU. No judgment. Every BODY is beautiful and moves to their own rhythm. Move the way your body tells you to. Free your soul! BE in present moment and connection to the playful person that lives inside you.

Even for me, it took some time to realize this freedom was available to me every day. Like the people I was promoting to, I had to learn that, without worrying about judgment, my body will move freely and effortlessly.

The first time I ever attended an Ecstatic Dance, I felt weird. All these people around me dancing to the beat of their own drum. At an Ecstatic Dance there is no talking on the dance floor and you are there for your own body, no one else’s. I hadn’t experienced anything like it before. After approx. 20 min I realized no one cared about me and what I was doing. Everyone was in their own space moving to their own groove. I decided to close my eyes and tune into the music.

I found my body began to move without me even trying. I realized my body was tight in areas I didn’t know were tight. As the music continued to rise, so did my energy and output. Before long I was dancing, jumping and moving like no one was watching. I felt lost in my own space like being alone on an island, even though I was surrounded by others doing and feeling the same thing. It was a natural high.

By the end of the dance, I was dripping with sweat. My body felt “Ecstatic” and free. I could move better than when I arrived at the location. I drove home with a smile the whole way. I LOVED it and couldn’t wait until the next event.

You will find, once you start practicing dance, you will not only love it, you'll become addicted to it. I did! My body craves dancing now. It's my stress release, my connection to my spirit and I feel physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually free.

After falling in love with the event I did some research on how dance is a form of meditation and ultimate health. Here’s what I found:

#1) After sitting for hours crossed legged, it's the movement and breathing your body needs

#2) Dancing IS a natural high

#3) Babies are born with natural movement to music, it's IN us

#4) As our bodies move, our brain rests

#5) Dance is a language of the soul

#6) Dancing opens up the chakras and heals emotional pain

#7) Our ancestors danced for spiritual connection and communication

#8) Dancing focuses on you living in the present moment

#9) Dancing is great for a sore body. Your body will remember the movement it needs

#10) Thousands of years ago, dance was our religion

Dancing is not only available to all of us every day, it is imperative for us to live a happy, healthy life!

So I ask you... Can you look within and question WHY you are scared to dance when it's a natural part of our existence? We were born to dance. What's holding you back?

I challenge you to try it - just once. You don’t need a big space. Just find a spot in your living room, bedroom or even your backyard. Let your spirit shine and your soul be free! You deserve it!

I found this beautiful Ecstatic Dance on YouTube. I danced to it in my living room the other night. Try it out at: https://youtu.be/9CEnSTruBBg

Happy Dancing!

Live Life Colourfully, Angela

how to
2

About the Creator

Angela Dacey

A colourful woman living her passion by supporting people in feeling lighter and shining brighter. Focused on personal development & spirituality with colour psychology.

www.livelifecolourfully.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.