Humans logo

A Love For Stories Continued

A Love For Writing

By Lushanya MatthewsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Okay so it's been a while, had a lot of things going on lately but i hope you enjoyed my first story of many. In my youth and teenage years i have written over 30 stories, letting my imagination run wild, and helping me to cope with all the bad stuff.

I am going to put in two stories this time, mainly because both of them are quite short, and the pair of them are currently my favorites of the shorter ones. The first one is entitled, The story of Amelia Johnson: Little Miss Duchess, and the second, The Village of Thorn, i hope you enjoy them both.

The story of Amelia Johnson: Little Miss Duchess

I was fourteen, the eldest of my seven brothers and sisters, when we had to move because of fathers job. Nobody wanted to of course, but we had to, as were very poor, but that didn't upset us.

We moved to Cornwall, and i lived there for three years. On my seventeenth birthday my mother took me away to my room, where a man of about thirty was waiting. My mother explained that if i married this man, i would go on and become the Duchess of Cornwall, and he would give money to the rest of the family.

I did not want to marry him, for i did not love him. I loved David, the shop boy. I had to agree, and so i ran to tell David the bad news. He was very upset, but once he got the money we would go to America. I truly wanted to believe him, but after five years of sitting alone in the drawing room, i eventually gave up hope.

Over the next six years i had four children, three boys and one girl. The eighteen years that followed was bearable with them by my side. When at last my daughter came of age i let her marry whomever she wished. Two years after my daughter married, there was an unexpected knock at the door.

I could not think who on earth it could be, but i told the butler to answer it anyway. There all old and wrinkly was David. He had come at last. I packed immediately without a moments hesitation, and David and i ran off together to America. We stayed there in our little cottage for the rest of our lives. David always calling me his Little Miss Duchess, until the day he died.

THE END.

The Village of Thorn

There was once a small village in Wales called Thorn. In the 1800s it was a great tourist attraction, until... The Beast!

Thorn was well known for its export and import of odd things, like a giant cuckoo clock for the village hall. Anyway on the twenty eighth of December 1891, a strange man came to give the village a very odd statue.

The statue had horns, a devil tail, and blood shot eyes. The younger generation were terrified, so the mayor decided to keep it in the village hall.

That night fourteen people completely disappeared. The next night twelve more people went missing. This kept happening night after night until the only person left was the strange man.

There is no apparent reason as to what happened that year, but some people believe. And so the legend goes if you happen to come across that village of Thorn on the twenty eighth of December you will disappear and never be found.

THE END.

literature
Like

About the Creator

Lushanya Matthews

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.