Humans logo

A Joy Named Sue

The project keeping me sane that the tools that continue to shape her

By Claire Nicholson Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
My mask next to the different scissors that will help me finish it.

I thought that choosing a craft that brought me the most joy would be easy. I thought that choosing a craft that uses scissors would make the decision even easier. How many of my hobbies could possibly use scissors? I instantly thought of sewing, but then I also considered basket weaving and the careful snips made to shape the many reeds into their proper sizes. I was returning from a trip across the country and had plenty time to think on the long ride home. As it turns out, most of the crafts I'm proudest of use scissors. The outfits and cute stuffed animals I love to sew require both proper scissors to cut various fabrics and the "baby scissors" in my sewing set that I always make a point to hold up for my dad to chuckle at. Who doesn't like smaller versions of things, after all? Often times I'll use a sharp set in lieu of a knife while cooking as well. Garden sheers have become a must as I finally learn how to keep my plants alive long enough for them to grow out of control, and growing out of control alongside them is my rarely tamed mop of hair. My hair and I are certainly no strangers to a pair of scissors and a late night vision of a style that will most likely be a bit of a shock in the morning. My crafts, my food and my looks are all artforms to me. I am proud of my skills and I can laugh at the mistakes. It surprised me when I realized how much I depend on scissors for these things. My new challenge was deciding which of my artforms was the most important to me. Which one could represent me better than the others? When I finally made it home, I knew the second I saw her.

Susan is made mainly of Styrofoam, air-dry clay and bits of cardboard and tape. She is unfinished, but I'm proud of every bit that has come together so far. She has scales, four tusks and three horns. When she is completed, she will be the mask I wear when I go to renaissance fairs once it is safe to gather again. She got her name when I set a hair bow on her head as a joke and quickly decided I actually loved the way it looked. She is my third attempt at a similar mask concept. Her current progress and future progress are not possible without the use of multiple specialized scissors as well as skills I've learned from other crafts. I felt she was the best project to right about because of the complexity of her design as well as her purpose to represent myself without showing my true face. And of course, because of her need for delicate scissor work.

Her early stages involved a lot of carving (as well as a huge mess). I switched often between a large kitchen knife, bulky scissors and carving tools. The scissors proved particularly useful for areas where the structural integrity of the Styrofoam likely wouldn't have survived my clumsy knife work. Dull edges of the same tools were used for detail in her clay parts as well as trimming excess material.

The second largest pair of scissors are what I have been using for the fabric I make facemasks with. Susan will have parts made of the same fabric intricately arranges to form patterns on her scales.

The hair scissors will be used to style wefts of wool pasted on like hair or a mane. I look forward to this stage, as I have been trying to give my own battered hair a rest from crazy styling.

Finally, my dad's favorite. The "baby scissors" are, of course, used for thread. Susan will have not only some attached fabric components, but I will also be crafting my own dress and corset to wear with the mask to fairs.

I view this mask as a culmination of many of the things I've learned as a reckless crafter. I have failed to make the same mask concept before. I have given up after one too many sewing machine jams. I have accidentally gassed the whole house with noxious fumes in the middle of the night while using paints and spray adhesives in poor safety conditions. I will always be making art, always experimenting and always making very messy mistakes, but if a hundred mistakes can result in one Susan, I can proudly say I'm an artist. I'll just have to be sure to remember the important things: lay down some news paper, keep the space well ventilated, wear eye protection and always keep track of your favorite pair of scissors.

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.