Humans logo

A Dream

A Glowing Deer

By Cassie PeabodyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
A painting I did at church

This is a story about a dream I recently had....it may not make sense but I hope that it brings you some enjoyment.

I was working with some people, two men to be exact. We were psycologists, and we were on our way to another facility when the weirdness began. All of a sudden, one of my colleagues and friend began to act strange. He started saying things like "Your shoes are glowing!, do you know who I am?, and I am lost."

Once we got to the hospital he was acting even stranger, anxious; scared almost like a child at the doctors office. He kept asking the nurse at the counter, "Do you know who I am, I'm lost; what's my name?"

I tried to calm him down with color sheets the nurse gave us but it wasn't working. He fought with me. Pinching and yelling; pushing my arms away. He kept saying, "I have to go back, my friends need my help!"

All of a sudden the dream shifted. We were no longer at the hospital, instead my friend and I were standing in the middle of what looked like a ski resort. There were tons of snow and people flying by us. Some walking, slow enough to see us, but they just kept on going. Ignoring us like we were invisible.

I myself was starting to freak out, nothing was making sense. I looked over at my friend and he was just standing there, tapping his two pointer fingers together mumbling to himself. Thoughts flooded my head at this point.

How could this happen? Was he doing drugs, did he break because of stress? Nothing was making sense. Could it be a form of psycosis? As I was thinking about the situation I noticed the ski trails were lined with trees on one side. There was a clearing that led to a lake, what I saw next would me sound nuts because it didn't look real at first.

A large ship with obscure looking figures on it was coming toward me. They were wearing masks made from animal skulls. In front of the ship looked like two giant pure white antlers creeping up out of the water. As I watched what emerged, my heart leaped and I instantly began reaching for my phone.

I lost my footing and started tumbling down the hill, branches and earth scratching my face along the way. A large tree finally broke my roll. As I stood up a powder puff of snow dusted my face. When my eyes cleared all I could do was stare at the beauty walking by me. Like in a movie, when two people lock eyes as one is walking past in slow motion.

I remembered my phone, shakily I point it at the creature in front of me and push the button. The flash shines, I look at what I captured, but there was nothing but a starburst of light and blurriness. At that moment all I could do was gaze at it's magnificence, completely speechless.

This creature was the size of a large SUV. Pure white fur, the edges of seemed to have a faint blue glow. It had enormous antlers coming from it's head, fuzzy like they too had been dusted with snow. It's eyes were gently, as if I was staring into my grandmother's eyes. The ears were large, but didn't look out of place.

As I was watching, waiting to see what it would do next, it bowed it's head with a grin on it's face. I think it was about to speak to me, but before it had a chance my friend from before came running. Pointing at the ship, he screamed "My friends, my friends!"

Before I knew it I was being pulled away by the arm. We started running through the water, chasing the ship. I was trying not to drown because the further away from shore we got the less ground I could reach with my legs. I tried to break free from my friends' grasp, but it was too strong. Like a child hanging on to it's mother. All I wanted was the shore and to stay with that majestic white deer I encountered.

I wondered what it was going to say to me, I thought as I was now being pulled onto the ship. How we managed to reach it, I will never know. By that time I was too exhausted to do anything but be thankful for solid ground. As I looked around I could now see just who was on the ship. We gotten onto a ship full of animals. They all cheered with open arms as they walked up to us.

Before I could say anything the water began to bubble and swirl, something from the deep spoke only saying two words.... "It's time".......and that's when I woke up.

Well friends I hope you enjoyed a peak into the mind of dreamer/artist. Have a fantastic night. Let me know if you'd like to read more.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Cassie Peabody

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.