Humans logo

A curve ball

A different kind of craft

By Leslie StromPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
5
A curve ball
Photo by Eco Warrior Princess on Unsplash

It’s my favorite time of year, the birds are singing, the crickets are chattering, the buds are blooming, and the hum of bees and humming birds have awakened.

By Boris Smokrovic on Unsplash

I feel like I want to be outside to do one of my favorite crafts that bring me to nature, to breath in the spring air, to embrace the changing seasons and embark on a new project!

The overwhelming colour at the nurseries bring you to another world of happiness that overtakes the senses. The smell is alluring and makes you stand still to absorb the freshness. The sight of the colours after all the white snow, grey trees, brown grass peeping through the snow. It awakens your soul and brings happiness instantly. The touch of the soil is wet, and smooth which instantly makes your fingers dance. The taste is not to far away knowing that all of the hard work of planting, pampering, watering, singing will bring cornucopia to new level.

By John-Mark Smith on Unsplash

I have many crafts that make me happy. The cutting of fabric with sharp fiscal scissors to make masks, squares, paired with a sewing machine is one. Buying yarn of different textures and colours to crochet and knit is one. Collecting beads, cutting hide, to make leather mitts is another. Gathering notes, the sound of the keys on the keyboard klicking, writing is another.

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

But... gardening and planting flowers is my absolute favorite. It makes my heart sing. Then, today happened. It was a beautiful day, breezy, warm, sun and cloud and my new project in the yard was finally taking shape, when I ended up in the hospital.

By Hush Naidoo on Unsplash

I started off by painting a new tall narrow flower bed black to match some of the accents in my yard. My parents stopped by and we chatted in the shady part of the yard, and my mom took a few seedlings for her garden. After she left I had to staple the fabric inside my new planter box and a staple went right into my thumb!!

Imagine, parents are driving home, son is at college( 3rd semester), husband is at work 4 hours away. What do I do? I have no vehicle. I instantly go to my neighbours ( a very close dear friend) and they are not home. Now what? I call one of my best friends who drops everything and comes over. She was a paramedic who is very calm and the perfect person to call in an emergency.

At the hospital, I had ex-rays and pain meds. Everything turned out ok and was released a couple of hours later. Guess what I wanted to do when I went home? You guessed it, finish planting the flowers.

But, apparently when your body comes off of shock and adrenaline, it puts a curve ball in all of the plans you had wanted to do! So now I sit, planning on tomorrow’s adventures of gardening and hope that no curve balls will end another perfect day.

By Kent Pilcher on Unsplash

fact or fiction
5

About the Creator

Leslie Strom

Hi, I come from a small town of 2,500 in Northern Ontario Canada. I love camping and fishing, which we have access to many beautiful lakes. I also knit, crotchet, sew, read and write. Our winters are very long and cold so crafting is a must

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.