Humans logo

7 Nigerian Celebrities Who Secretly Got Married (2023 UPDATE)

At least we eventually found out

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

Love. It's a complicated thing. And when your love story is being played out in front of the public eye, it becomes even more complicated. Celebrities have to deal with the public scrutiny and opinions from people about whoever they're romantically linked with. Are they too fat? Too slim? Too big? Too small? The internet is always willing and ready to provide their opinions, solicited or not, and so for these celebrities, when it came time for their big day, they decided to keep it quiet and get married in secret.

Today, we'll be counting down 7 celebrities who secretly got married. I did a list like this 3 years ago, and so now, here is the 2023 Update.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

1. Seyi Shay

Nigerian singer Seyi Shay revealed earlier this month, that she is actually a married woman. Yes. During a promotional Q&A session for her podcast, No Holds Barred, Seyi Shay was asked "In an interview with Blank Digital, you talked about your white wedding coming soon. How far?" to which she responded:

SEYI SHAY: It already happened! Goddamn. I am a married woman. I have been cuffed. I think he would say he's been cuffed. But yeah, we already did that and it was lovely and it was beautiful, and I never really wanted to get married really my whole life. I just always wanted to have a kid. But I feel like getting married has to be something like just happens because you feel like it feels right, and it felt right.

2. Linda Ejiofor and Ibrahim Suleiman

Linda Ejiofor and hubby, Ibrahim Suleiman grew closer during their time on Tinsel, but Ibrahim was afraid of expressing his feelings to Linda for fear that he might ruin the friendship. However, he later went on to express his feelings to her and her feelings were the same towards him.

While shooting the movie Up North, Ibrahim missed Linda so much that he made up his mind to marry her. Eventually, he mustered up the courage to ask her and 6 weeks later, they tied the knot in a simple private event filled with family and friends alone.

3. D'Banj

D'Banj's wedding to his wife Lineo Didi Kilgrow was so private that up until today, we haven't seen any official pictures. All we know is that the wedding took place in his family home in Maryland, Lagos while a traditional wedding was done in Jos, Plateu State. Speaking about his decision to keep his big day so private, D'Banj said:

D'BANJ: I decided to keep my marriage to Didi a secret because based on experience, relationships like this get mixed with media hypes and speculations and then it becomes complicated.

4. Simi and Adekunle Gold

Simi and Adekunle Gold kept pretty much everything about their relationship private up until the day they got married. Despite the rumors and speculations, the couple never quite confirmed or denied their relationship.

When their song "Promise" dropped in January of 2019, the accompanying music video that followed containing footage from their wedding, was the announcement and confirmation of their wedding.

5. Di'Ja

Di'Ja is a Nigerian celebrity who is a queen at keeping secrets. The singer got married in 2015 and had a baby in 2016 yet official pictures of the wedding never came out until 2017.

6. Toke Makinwa

When Toke Makinwa got married to her husband, Maje Ayida, on January 15, 2014, she kept it so lowkey, she had to eventually apologize to family and friends who got to know about the wedding with the rest of the world when the news and pictures hit.

She said after the wedding:

TOKE MAKINWA: On the 15th of January 2014, I got married to my lover and Best Friend. It was such an intimate event, I haven’t stopped apologising to family and friends who feel slighted that they could not attend. I really did not wish to keep it a secret, if anything we would have loved to have all our loved ones there with us but this was our registry and so much had happened between Maje and I in the last 3 months. Plus, it was such a huge surprise, I had no clue. I hate surprises but I must say, this one knocked me out of my elements because I usually suspect something is happening. Hehehehe! I am not fully over it yet.

The couple later got divorced in late 2017.

7. Davido

Earlier today, Nigerians were left in shock when singer Davido announced that he and long-term girlfriend, now turned wife, actually got married. He made the revelation during an interview with media personality Kiekie where he said simply "I'm married".

This news came as a surprise to Nigerians who of course had no clue up until this point that Davido and Chioma were even re-engaged let alone now married.

What do you think about all this, and did any of these surprise you? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.